Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Issue No. 62 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 11, 2019 (morning meeting)

SASKATOON, Thursday, April 11, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 8 a.m., in the Adam Ballroom, Delta Bessborough, the chair, the Honourable Rosa Galvez, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Carignan, P.C., Cordy, Galvez, MacDonald, Mockler, Neufeld, Patterson, Richards, Simons and Tkachuk (10).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Wallin (1).

In attendance: Sam Banks and Jesse Good, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, December 12, 2018, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, to amend the Navigation Protection Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 54.)


Whitecap Resources Inc.:

Grant Fagerheim, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Cameco Corporation:

Alice Wong, Senior Vice-President and Chief Corporate Officer;

Liam Mooney, Vice-President, Safety, Health, Environmental Quality and Regulatory Relations.

Tamarack Valley Energy Ltd.:

Brian Schmidt (Aakaikkitstakii), President and Chief Executive Officer, Honorary Chief of the Blood Tribe (Blackfoot).

Inter-Church Uranium Committee Educational Co-operative:

Reverend Michael Poellet, President.

Saskatchewan Mining Association:

Pam Schwann, President;

Jessica Theriault, Director of Environment with the Mosaic Company.


Sarah Fedorchuk, Vice-President, Public Affairs and Government Relations.


Mike Webb, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer.

As an individual:

Dwight Newman, Professor of Law and Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Rights, University of Saskatchewan.

Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities:

Ray Orb, President.


Randolph Seguin, Resource Specialist, Environmental Assessment;

Douglas Opseth, Director, Generation Asset Management and Planning.

Athabasca Basin Security:

Ron Hyggen, Chief Executive Officer.

Ms. Wong and Mr. Fagerheim made statements and, with Mr. Mooney, answered questions.

At 9:11 a.m., it was agreed that the committee suspend.

At 9:14 a.m., the committee resumed.

Reverend Poellet and Ms. Schwann made statements and, together with Ms. Theriault and Mr. Mooney, answered questions.

At 10 a.m., it was agreed that the committee suspend.

At 10:15 a.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Fedorchuk, Mr. Newman and Mr. Webb made statements and answered questions.

At 11:17 a.m., it was agreed that the committee suspend.

At 11:21 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Hyggen, Mr. Orb and Mr. Opseth made statements and answered questions.

At 12:16 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin
Clerk of the Committee