Proceedings of the Special Senate Committee on
Senate Modernization

Issue No. 11 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 3, 2017

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 3, 2017


The Special Senate Committee on Senate Modernization met this day at 12:02 p.m., in room 257, East Block, the chair, the Honourable Thomas J. McInnis, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Dean, Dupuis, Eggleton, P.C., Forest, Gagné, Gold, Greene, Joyal, P.C., McCoy, McInnis, McIntyre, Stewart Olsen, Tardif and Tkachuk (14).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Verner, P.C. (1).

In attendance: Sebastian Spano and David Groves, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Friday, December 11, 2015, the committee continued its consideration of methods to make the Senate more effective within the current constitutional framework. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 1.)


As individuals:

Adam Dodek, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa;

John Whyte, Senior Policy Fellow, Saskatchewan Institute of Public Policy.

The chair made a statement.

Professor Dodek and Mr. Whyte each made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:51 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Blair Armitage

Clerk of the Committee