Skip to Content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Issue No. 41 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 25, 2018

OTTAWA, Wednesday, April 25, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 3:15 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bernard, Deacon, Eggleton, P.C., Lankin, P.C., Manning, Mégie, Munson, Omidvar, Petitclerc, Poirier, Raine and Seidman (12).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Black (Ontario) and Campbell (2).

In attendance: Shaila Anwar, Deputy Principal Clerk, Senate Committees Directorate; Sonya Norris and Marlisa Tiedemann, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 22, 2018, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 39.)


Canadian Students for Sensible Drug Policy:

Jenna Valleriani, Strategic Advisor.

Drug Free Kids Canada:

Marc Paris, Executive Director;

Glenn Barnes, Advisory Council Member.

Saskatchewan Advocate For Children and Youth:

Corey O'Soup, Advocate.

As an individual:

Emily Jenkins, Assistant Professor, School of Nursing, University of British Columbia.

Smart Approaches to Marijuana Canada (SAMC):

Connor Fesenmaier, Advisory Council Member (by video conference).

Skylark Children, Youth & Families:

Danielle Sutherland, Curriculum Development Manager.

Eva's Initiatives:

Kristen Szekszardi, Advanced Peer Worker (alumni);

Grace Costa, General Manager, Eva's Satellite.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. Valleriani, Mr. Paris, Mr. Barnes, Mr. O'Soup and Ms. Jenkins each made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:21 p.m., the Honourable Senator Deacon replaced the Honourable Senator Lankin as member of the committee.

At 5:15 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:21 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Sutherland, Ms. Szekszardi, Ms. Costa and Mr. Fesenmaier each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:21 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mireille Aubé
Acting Clerk of the Committee