Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Issue No. 63 - Minutes of Proceedings - June 12, 2019

OTTAWA, Wednesday, June 12, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology met this day at 4:15 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington Street, the chair, the Honourable Chantal Petitclerc, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boyer, Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Kutcher, Manning, Mégie, Moncion, Munson, Oh, Petitclerc, Poirier, Ravalia and Seidman (13).

In attendance Maxime Charron-Tousignant and Laura Munn-Rivard, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 30, 2019, the committee began its examination of Bill C-84, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (bestiality and animal fighting).


The Honourable David Lametti, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.


Department of Justice Canada:

François Daigle, Associate Deputy Minister;

Carole Morency, Director General and Senior General Counsel.

Canadian Veterinary Medical Association:

Dr. Alice Crook, Veterinarian and Adjunct Professor, Atlantic Veterinary College, University of Prince Edward Island (by video conference).

Humane Canada:

Barbara Cartwright, Chief Executive Officer.

British Columbia Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals:

Shawn Eccles, Senior Manager, Cruelty Investigations.

The chair made a statement.

The minister made a statement and, together with Mr. Daigle and Ms. Morency, answered questions.

At 4:55 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the committee resumed.

Dr. Crook and Ms. Cartwright made statements and answered questions.

At 5:22 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:56 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Eccles made a statement and, together with Dr. Crook and Ms. Cartwright, answered questions.

At 6:41 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Daniel Charbonneau
Clerk of the Committee