Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue No. 3 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 18, 2016

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 18, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 7 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Dennis Dawson, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk, Boisvenu, Dawson, Doyle, Eggleton, P.C., Greene, MacDonald, Manning and Runciman (9).

In attendance: Jed Chong, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, March 9, 2016, the committee continued its study on the development of a strategy to facilitate the transport of crude oil to Eastern Canadian refineries and to ports on the East and West Coasts of Canada. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 2.)


Safe Rail Communities:

Eleni Helen Vassilakos, co-founder (by video conference); and

Patricia Yeun Yee Lai, co-founder (by video conference).

Ms. Vassilakos made an opening statement and, along with Ms. Lai, answered questions.

At 7:40 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee