Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue No. 30 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 13, 2018

OTTAWA, Tuesday, February 13, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9:31 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable David Tkachuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boisvenu, Bovey, Cormier, Dawson, Gagné, Griffin, MacDonald, Manning, Mercer, Mitchell, Plett and Tkachuk (12).

In attendance: Jed Chong and Zackery Shaver, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Friday, December 8, 2017, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-49, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and other Acts respecting transportation and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 27.)


McMillan, LLP:

François Tougas, Co-Chair, Transportation and Competition.

Institut en culture sécurité industrielle Mégantic::

Béland Audet, President (by video conference).

As an individual:

Jean-Paul Rodrigue, Professor, Department of Global Studies and Geography, Hofstra University, United States.

Canadian Labour Congress:

Hassan Yussuff, President;

Chris Roberts, National Director, Social and Economic Policy.

Teamsters Canada Rail Conference:

Don Ashley, National Legislative Director.


Bruce Snow, National Rail Director.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Tougas, Mr. Audet and Mr. Rodrigue each made statements and answered questions.

At 10:26 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:31 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Ashley, Mr. Snow and Mr. Yussuff each made statements and answered questions.

At 11:28 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:29 a.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to consider a draft agenda (future business).

At 11:35 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Victor Senna
Clerk of the Committee