Skip to Content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue No. 30 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 14, 2018

OTTAWA, Wednesday, February 14, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:45 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable David Tkachuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boisvenu, Bovey, Dawson, Griffin, MacDonald, Manning, Mercer, Mitchell, Plett and Tkachuk (10).

In attendance: Jed Chong and Zackery Shaver, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Friday, December 8, 2017, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-49, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and other Acts respecting transportation and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 27.)


Alberta Wheat Commission:

Warren Sekulic, Director, Region 5.

Canadian Federation of Agriculture:

Todd Lewis, President, Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan.

Cereals Canada:

Cam Dahl, President.

Grain Growers of Canada:

Jeff Nielsen, President.

Canadian Oilseed Processors Association:

Chris Vervaet, Executive Director.

Western Grain Elevator Association:

Wade Sobkowich, Executive Director.

Canadian Canola Growers Association:

Steve Pratte, Policy Manager.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Sekulic, Mr. Lewis, Mr. Dahl and Mr. Nielsen each made statements and answered questions.

At 7:44 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:48 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Vervaet, Mr. Sobkowich and Mr. Pratte each made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:36 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Victor Senna
Clerk of the Committee