Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue No. 42 - Minutes of Proceedings - October 30, 2018

OTTAWA, Tuesday, October 30, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9:30 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable David Tkachuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boisvenu, Cormier, Dawson, Gagné, Galvez, MacDonald, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Tkachuk and Wetston (10).

In attendance: Jed Chong and Zackery Shaver, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament; Ben Silverman, Communications Officer, Senate Communications Directorate.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, June 20, 2018, the committee continued its examination on how the three federal communications statutes (the Telecommunications Act, the Broadcasting Act, and the Radiocommunication Act) can be modernized to account for the evolution of the broadcasting and telecommunications sectors in the last decades. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 38.)


Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission:

Ian Scott, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer;

Scott Hutton, Executive Director, Broadcasting;

Chris Seidl, Executive Director, Telecommunications;

Rachelle Frenette, Legal Counsel.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Scott made a statement and, together with Mr. Hutton and Ms. Frenette, answered questions.

At 11:19 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Joëlle Nadeau
Clerk of the Committee