Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Monday, December 9, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 1 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Boehm, Day, Deacon (Ontario), Duffy, Duncan, Forest, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Smith, Tannas and Tkachuk (13).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on December 5, 2019, the committee continued its examination of the Supplementary Estimates (A) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2020.


Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Karen Cahill, Assistant Secretary and Chief Financial Officer;

Glenn Purves, Assistant Secretary, Expenditure Management Sector;

Darryl Sprecher, Senior Director, Expenditure Strategies and Estimates.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

Martin Reiher, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector;

Annie Boudreau, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer.

Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Cheri Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Finance) and Chief Financial Officer;

Troy Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Materiel);

Lieutenant-General Jean-Marc Lanthier, Vice Chief of the Defence Staff.

Transport Canada:

Ryan Pilgrim, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services;

Anuradha Marisetti, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Purves made a statement and, together with Ms. Cahill, answered questions.

At 2:08 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 2:15 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mses. Boudreau and Crosby and Mr. Pilgrim made statements and, together with Lt.-Gen. Lanthier, Mr. Crosby and Ms. Marisetti, answered questions.

At 3:27 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin

Clerk of the Committee