Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Tuesday, March 10, 2020


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 8:31 a.m., in room W120, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Boehm, Deacon (Ontario), Downe, Duncan, Forest, Klyne, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Smith, Stewart Olsen and Tannas (13).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 25, 2020, the committee began its examination of the Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2020.


Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Glenn Purves, Assistant Secretary, Expenditure Management Sector;

Karen Cahill, Assistant Secretary and Chief Financial Officer;

Marcia Santiago, Executive Director, Expenditure Strategies and Estimates.

Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer:

Yves Giroux, Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Jason Jacques, Director General, Costing and Budgetary Analysis.

Mr. Purves made a statement and, together with Ms. Cahill and Ms. Santiago, answered questions.

At 9:33 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:37 a.m., the committee resumed.

At 9:37 a.m., the Honourable Senator Downe replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas as a member of the committee.

Mr. Giroux made a statement and, together with Mr. Jacques, answered questions.

At 10:21 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin

Clerk of the Committee