Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Tuesday, March 10, 2020


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 2:02 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Dawson, Deacon (Ontario), Duncan, Forest, Keating, Klyne, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Smith, Stewart Olsen and Tannas (13).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 25, 2020, the committee continued its examination of the Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2020.


Indigenous Services Canada:

Philippe Thompson, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer;

Keith Conn, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Joanne Wilkinson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Family Services Reform Sector;

Mary-Luisa Kapelus, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships Sector.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

Wayne Walsh, Director General, Northern Strategic Policy Branch;

Annie Boudreau, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer.

Infrastructure Canada:

Greg Hall, Director General Finance and Administration;

Marc Fortin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Program Operations Branch.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Brian Brennan, Deputy Commissioner, Contract and Indigenous Policing;

Dennis Watters, Chief Financial and Administrative Officer;

Kevin Stringer, RCMP Chief Administrative Officer.

Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Lieutenant-General Jean-Marc Lanthier, Vice Chief of the Defence Staff;

Cheri Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Finance) and Chief Financial Officer;

Troy Crosby, Assistant Deputy Minister (Materiel).

Mr. Thompson and Ms. Boudreau each made a statement and, together with Ms. Wilkinson, Ms. Kapelus, Mr. Conn and Mr. Walsh, answered questions.

At 3:20 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:30 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Hall, Mr. Stringer and Ms. Crosby each made a statement and, together with Messrs. Fortin, Watters, Brennan and Crosby and LGen. Lanthier, answered questions.

At 4:40 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin

Clerk of the Committee