Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Wednesday, March 11, 2020


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 11:30 a.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Deacon (Ontario), Duncan, Forest, Forest-Niesing, Keating, Klyne, Marshall, Mockler, Smith, Stewart Olsen and Tannas (12).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Loffreda (1).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 25, 2020, the committee continued its examination of the Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2020.


Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Frances McRae, Assistant Deputy Minister, Small Business and Marketplace Services.

Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions:

Jean-Frédéric Lafaille, Vice President, Policy and Communications.

Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario:

Linda Cousineau, Acting Vice President, Business Innovation and Community Development Branch.

Western Economic Diversification Canada:

Barbara Motzney, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Strategic Direction.

Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency:

Bill Grandy, Director General, Programs.

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Dr. Howard Njoo, Deputy Chief Public Health Officer;

Carlo Beaudoin, Chief Financial Officer;

Anna Romano, Vice President, Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Branch.

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Mark Perlman, Chief Financial Officer;

Jason Won, Deputy Chief Financial Officer ;

Elisha Ram, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Skills And Employment Branch;

Atiq Rahman, Director General, Canada Student Loans Program, Learning Branch.

Ms. McRae, Mr. Lafaille, Ms. Cousineau, Ms. Motzney and Mr. Grandy each made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:29 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:35 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Perlman and Mr. Beaudoin each made a statement and, together with Mr. Won, Mr. Ram, Mr. Rahman, Ms. Romano and Dr. Njoo, answered questions.

At 1:11 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin

Clerk of the Committee