Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Wednesday, March 11, 2020


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 2:30 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Boehm, Deacon (Ontario), Duncan, Forest, Forest-Niesing, Klyne, Marshall, Mockler, Smith, Stewart Olsen and Tannas (12).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 25, 2020, the committee continued its examination of the Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2020.


Natural Resources Canada:

Linda Hurdle, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Management and Services Sector;

Joyce Henry, Director General, Office of Energy Efficiency;

Glenn Hargrove, Assistant Deputy Minister, Major Projects Management Office.

Federation of Canadian Municipalities:

Carole Saab, Executive Director, Policy and Public Affairs;

Chris Boivin, Managing Director of the Green Municipal Fund.

Canadian Federation of Students:

Sofia Descalzi, National Chairperson;

Genevieve Charest, Translator and Communications Coordinator.

Ms. Hurdle and Ms. Saab each made a statement and, together with Ms. Henry, Mr. Hargrove and Mr. Boivin, answered questions.

At 3:30 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:37 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Descalzi made a statement and, together with Ms. Charest, answered questions.

At 4:06 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin

Clerk of the Committee