Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 12, 2020


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of April 11, 2020, the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day by videoconference at 3:05 p.m. (ET), the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding. This meeting is considered to have taken place in the parliamentary precinct.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Dagenais, Deacon (Ontario), Duncan, Forest, Gagné, Galvez, Gold, P.C., Harder, P.C., Klyne, Loffreda, Marshall, Martin, Mockler, Richards and Smith (16).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Forest-Niesing, Lankin, P.C., and Pate (3).

Participating in the meeting: Gaëtane Lemay and Mireille Aubé, Procedural Clerks, Committees Directorate; Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee began its study on a) certain elements of Bill C-13, An Act respecting certain measures in response to COVID-19; b) the provisions and operations of Bill C-14, A second Act respecting measures in response to COVID-19; and, c) the government’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic and its economic consequences.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Department of Finance Canada:

Andrew Marsland, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch;

Evelyn Dancey, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development and Corporate Finance Branch;

Alison McDermott, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch;

Suzy McDonald, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch;

Soren Halverson, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch.

Employment and Social Development Canada:

Alexis Conrad, Assistant Deputy Minister, Learning Branch;

Elisha Ram, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Skills and Employment Branch;

Cliff Groen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Canada;

Patricia Wilson, Director General, Program Operations Branch;

Mark Perlman, Chief Financial Officer and Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Chief Financial Officer Branch;

Catherine Demers, Director General, Youth and Skills Innovation Directorate.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Marsland made a statement and, together with Ms. McDermott, Ms. Dancey, Mr. Halverson and Ms. McDonald, answered questions.

At 4:15 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:03 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Conrad made a statement and, together with Ms. Demers, Mr. Groen and Mr. Ram, answered questions.

At 6:45 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin

Clerk of the Committee