Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 26, 2020


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of April 11, 2020, the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day by videoconference at 2:36 p.m. (ET), the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding. This meeting is considered to have taken place in the parliamentary precinct.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Dagenais, Deacon (Ontario), Duncan, Forest, Gagné, Galvez, Klyne, Loffreda, Marshall, Martin, Mockler, Richards and Smith (14).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Dasko, Harder, P.C., Lankin, P.C., and Pate (4).

Participating in the meeting: Gaëtane Lemay and Mireille Aubé, Procedural Clerks, Committees Directorate; Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official stenographers of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee resumed its study on a) certain elements of Bill C-13, An Act respecting certain measures in response to COVID-19; b) the provisions and operations of Bill C-14, A second Act respecting measures in response to COVID-19; and, c) the government’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic and its economic consequences.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer:

Yves Giroux, Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Sloane Mask, Director, Parliamentary Relations and Planning.

Bank of Canada:

Stephen S. Poloz, Governor;

Carolyn A. Wilkins, Senior Deputy Governor.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Giroux made a statement and, together with Ms. Mask, answered questions.

At 4:02 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Poloz made a statement and, together with Ms. Wilkins, answered questions.

At 6:32 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin

Clerk of the Committee