Download as PDF



OTTAWA, Wednesday, December 9, 2020


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of November 17, 2020, the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met in camera this day in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference at 4:18 p.m. [ET], the chair, the Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Batters, Boisvenu, Campbell (3).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Boyer, Carignan, P.C., Cotter, Dalphond, Dupuis, Jaffer, Keating, Petitclerc and Tannas (9).

Other senators present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Gold, P.C., Kutcher, Pate and Plett (4).

Participating in the meetingJoëlle Nadeau, Procedural Clerk, Committees Directorate; Julian Walker and Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, November 3, 2020, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of Bill C-7, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (medical assistance in dying).

The committee considered a draft report.

It was agreed that the committee allow the transcription of today’s in camera meeting, that one copy be kept with the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members or staff, and that the transcript be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

After debate, it was agreed that the draft report, as amended, be adopted and that the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be empowered to approve the final version of the report taking into consideration this meeting's discussions, and with any necessary editorial, grammatical and translation changes required.

It was agreed that the chair be authorized to table the report in the Senate, at the earliest opportunity.

At 6:08 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mark Palmer

Clerk of the Committee