Skip to Content
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Issue 11 - Minutes of Proceedings

OTTAWA, Thursday, April 3, 2003


The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, Environment and Natural Resources met at 8:39 a.m. this day, in room 257 East Block, the Chair, the Honourable Tommy Banks, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Banks, Buchanan, P.C., Christensen, Cochrane, Finnerty, and Spivak (6).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Sibbeston (1).

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Lynne Myers, Researcher, Science and Technology Division and James McQueen, Researcher, Economics Division.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, November 7, 2002, the committee continued its examination of emerging issues related to its mandate (implementation of the Kyoto Protocol). (For complete text of Order of Reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 8, February 18, 2003.)


From the Canadian Electricity Association:

Mr. Hans Konow, President & Chief Executive Officer;

Mr. Roy G. Staveley, Senior Vice-President.

From the Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Mr. Michael Murphy, Senior Vice-President, Policy.

From the Canadian Council of Chief Executives:

Mr. John Dillon, Vice-President, Policy and Legal Counsel.

Mr. Konow and Mr. Staveley each made a statement. Together the witnesses answered questions.

Mr. Murphy made a statement. Mr. Dillon made a statement. Together the witnesses answered questions.

At 10:31 a.m., it was agreed that the committee adjourn to the call of the Chair.


Josée Thérien

Clerk of the Committee