Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL A. MEIGHEN

Tuesday, June 19, 2012
Wednesday, June 20, 2012
Thursday, June 21, 2012

Issue No. 22

First, second and third (final) meetings on:

Bill C-25, An Act relating to pooled registered pension plans and making related amendments to other Acts

(Bill C-25)


The Honourable Ted Menzies, P.C., M.P., Minister of State (Finance)


Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Department of Finance Canada:

Jeremy Rudin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Leah Anderson, Director, Financial Sector Division;

Lynn Hemmings, Senior Chief, Payments, Financial Sector Division;

Yasir Syed, Senior Project Leader, Payments and Pensions.

Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc.:

Frank Swedlove, President;

Leslie Byrnes, Vice President, Distribution and Pensions.

Canadian Bankers Association:

Marion Wrobel, Vice-President, Policy and Operations.

The Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Susanna Cluff-Clyburne, Director, Parliamentary Affairs.

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Canadian Federation of Independent Business:

Dan Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer.

As an individual:

Bernard Dussault.

Open Access Limited:

Randy VanDerStarren, Executive Vice President;

Charles Laing, Head of Research & Development.

OMERS Administration Corporation:

Anne Soh, Vice-President, Actuarial Services;

Neil Hrab, Manager, Government & Stakeholder Policy and Research.

Regroupement des jeunes chambres de commerce du Québec:

Guillaum Dubreuil, Vice-President, Federal and International Affairs

Pierlot Pension Law:

James Pierlot, Founder and Principal.


The Honourable Irving Gerstein, Chair

The Honourable Céline Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Greene, Harb, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Maltais, Massicotte, Moore, Oliver, Ringuette, Smith (Saurel), Stewart Olsen, Tkachuk

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Tkachuk replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (June 21, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Moore replaced the Honourable Senator Eggleton, P.C. (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Greene replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Greene (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Eggleton, P.C. replaced the Honourable Senator Moore (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Oliver replaced the Honourable Senator Unger (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (June 20, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Greene replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (June 19, 2012).

The Honourable Senator MacDonald replaced the Honourable Senator Greene (June 19, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Unger replaced the Honourable Senator Oliver (June 19, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen replaced the Honourable Senator Brown (June 15, 2012).