Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Issue 9 - Minutes of Proceedings, February 8, 2012

OTTAWA, Wednesday, February 8, 2012


The Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met at 4:17 p.m. this day, in room 257, East Block, the chair, the Honourable John D. Wallace, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Angus, Baker, P.C., Boisvenu, Chaput, Dagenais, Fraser, Frum, Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., Lang, Runciman and Wallace (12).

In attendance: Robin MacKay and Erin Shaw, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Friday, December 16, 2011, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-10 An Act to enact the Justice for Victims of Terrorism Act and to amend the State Immunity Act, the Criminal Code, the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, the Youth Criminal Justice Act, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 9.)


Canadian Bar Association:

Gaylene Schellenberg, Lawyer;

Daniel A. MacRury, Chair, National Criminal Justice Section.

Barreau du Québec:

Nicole Dufour, Lawyer, Coordinator, Committee on Criminal Law;

Giuseppe Battista, Representative;

Dominique Trahan, Representative.

Kenora Lawyers Sentencing Group:

Peter Kirby, Coordinator.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

William Trudell, Chair.

Canadian Association of Crown Counsel:

Jamie Chaffe, President.

The chair made an opening statement.

Ms. Schellenberg, Mr. MacRury, Ms. Dufour and Mr. Kirby each made a statement and, together with, Mr. Battista and Mr. Trahan, answered questions.

At 6:30 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:39 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Chaffe and Mr. Trudell each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:56 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Shaila Anwar

Clerk of the Committee