Subcommittee on the Senate Estimates

Studies & Bills

Information prior to the 40th Parliament is from notices of meetings. For the official record, please refer to the related minutes and transcripts.

There are limited electronic records available for the period prior to the 35th Parliament. For historical information, please contact: ctm@sen.parl.gc.ca or 1-800-267-7362

Studies & Bills Date Referred  note  note
Examine the Auditor General of Canada’s audit oversight recommendations
(2017-09-21)
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 at 11:33 AM
  • Andrew Newman, Partner, Audit Leader, Public Sector Audit (KPMG)
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 at 11:35 AM
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 at 11:40 AM
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 11:35 AM
Study the issue of living expenses while in Ottawa, including the current practices and possible replacement models that considers fairness, equity, responsible use of resources
(2017-02-02)
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 at 11:05 AM
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 11:07 AM
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 11:03 AM
Approve funding for the Independent Senators Group for the current fiscal year and for the fiscal year 2017-18
(2016-12-08)
Monday, December 12, 2016 at 3:36 PM
Pursuant to rule 12-7(1), consideration of financial and administrative matters
(2016-04-29)
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 4:30 PM
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at 2:30 PM
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 2:20 PM
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 2:15 PM
Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 1:05 PM
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 at 8:04 AM
Monday, October 30, 2017 at 4:08 PM
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 at 11:33 AM
  • Andrew Newman, Partner, Audit Leader, Public Sector Audit (KPMG)
Monday, November 28, 2016 at 5:07 PM
Wednesday, November 23, 2016 at 6:09 PM
Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at 4:18 PM
Monday, November 14, 2016 at 1:06 PM
Tuesday, May 10, 2016 at 12:45 PM
Thursday, May 5, 2016 at 12:49 PM
  • The Honourable Senator Elaine McCoy, Senator (The Senate of Canada)
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 at 6:33 PM
  • The Honourable Senator Peter Harder, P.C., Government Representative in the Senate (The Senate of Canada)
  • Charles Robert, Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments (The Senate of Canada)
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 at 12:45 PM
  • The Honourable Senator Claude Carignan, P.C., Leader of the Opposition (The Senate of Canada)
Tuesday, May 3, 2016 at 9:04 AM
  • The Honourable Senator James S. Cowan, Leader of the Senate Liberals (The Senate of Canada)
Legend
Audio Webcast
Audio Webcast
Video Webcast
Video Webcast
Meeting
Meeting
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness

Orders of Reference

A committee’s order of reference is the Order of the Senate that authorizes it to examine a bill or to undertake a special study. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. Three standing committees do, however, have permanent orders of reference, allowing them to undertake their work without waiting for a specific order of reference. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament (responsible for proposing amendments to the rules of the Senate, examining questions of privilege and consideration of the orders and customs of the Senate and privileges of Parliament), the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (responsible for the financial and administrative matters relating to the internal management of the Senate) and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.