Skip to Content



All Studies & Bills

Information prior to the 40th Parliament is from notices of meetings. For the official record, please refer to the related minutes and transcripts.

There are limited electronic records available for the period prior to the 35th Parliament. For historical information, please contact: or 1-800-267-7362

Studies & Bills Committee Date Referred Session  note  note
Bill S-1001, An Act respecting Queen’s University at Kingston
LCJC (2011-03-24)
Bill C-465, An Act respecting a National Hunting, Trapping and Fishing Heritage Day
SOCI (2011-03-23)
Bill C-232, An Act to amend the Supreme Court Act (understanding the official languages)
LCJC (2011-03-22)
Bill C-442, An Act to establish a National Holocaust Monument
SOCI (2011-03-22)
Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 10:28 AM
  • Yaron Ashkenazi, Executive Director (The Canadian Society of Yad Vashem)
  • Bernie M. Farber, Chief Executive Officer (Canadian Jewish Congress)
  • Tim Uppal, Member of Parliament for Edmonton-Sherwood (As an Individual)
Bill C-55, An Act to amend the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act and the Pension Act
SECD (2011-03-22)
Wednesday, March 23, 2011 at 4:03 PM
  • The Honourable Jean-Pierre Blackburn, P.C., M.P., Minister of Veterans Affairs and Minister of State (Agriculture) (As an Individual)
  • Pierre Allard, Service Bureau Director (Royal Canadian Legion)
  • Bernard Butler, Director General, Policy and Research (Veterans Affairs Canada)
  • Keith Hillier, Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery (Veterans Affairs Canada)
  • Chief Warrant Officer (Retired) Guy Parent, Veterans Ombudsman (Office of the Veterans Ombudsman)
  • Brigadier-General (Retired) Joseph Sharpe (As an individual)
  • Brad White, Dominion Secretary (Royal Canadian Legion)
Bill C-302, An Act to recognize the injustice that was done to persons of Italian origin through their "enemy alien" designation and internment during the Second World War, and to provide for restitution and promote education on Italian-Canadian history
SOCI (2011-03-21)
Bill C-475, An Act to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (methamphetamine and ecstasy)
LCJC (2011-03-21)
Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 10:36 AM
  • Mark Audcent, Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel (Senate of Canada)
  • Carrie De Jong, Addictions Counsellor (Orchard Recovery Center)
  • Suzanne Desjardins, Director, Controlled Substances and Tobacco Directorate (Health Canada)
  • Paul Saint-Denis, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section (Department of Justice Canada)
  • John Weston, M.P., Sponsor of the Bill (As an Individual)
Government Response, dated March 21, 2011, to the fourth report of the Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications, entitled: Plan for a digital, tabled in the Senate on June 16, 2010
TRCM (2011-03-21)
Bill C-59, An Act to amend the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (accelerated parole review) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts
LCJC (2011-03-10)
Tuesday, March 22, 2011 at 9:05 AM
Monday, March 21, 2011 at 11:05 AM
  • The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety (Public Safety Canada)
  • Lorraine Berzins, Community Chair of Justice (Church Council on Justice and Corrections)
  • Suzanne Brisebois, Director General, Policy, Planning and Operations (Parole Board of Canada)
  • Mary Campbell, Director General, Corrections Directorate (Public Safety Canada)
  • Laurent Champagne, President (Church Council on Justice and Corrections)
  • John Conroy, Member, Committee on Imprisonment and Release (Canadian Bar Association)
  • Joey Davis, Co-Founder, Spokesperson (Earl Jones Victims Organizing Committee)
  • Stephen Fineberg, Representative (Barreau du Québec)
  • Don Head, Commissioner (Correctional Service of Canada)
  • David Henry, Communications and Programs Coordinator (Association des services de réhabilitation sociale du Québec)
  • Michael Jackson, Professor (As an individual)
  • Jacinthe Lanctôt, Vice-president (Association des avocats et avocates en droit carcéral du Québec)
  • Ed McIsaac, Interim Director of Policy (John Howard Society of Canada)
  • Kim Pate, Executive Director (Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies)
  • Darryl Plecas, Professor (As an individual)
  • Joëlle Roy, Vice-President (Association québécoise des avocats et avocates de la défense)
  • Howard Sapers, Correctional Investigator of Canada (Office of the Correctional Investigator)
  • Marc Sauvé, Director of Legal Services (Barreau du Québec)
  • Gaylene Schellenberg, Lawyer (Canadian Bar Association)
  • Graham Stewart (As an individual)
  • Shelley Trevethan, Executive Director General (Parole Board of Canada)
  • Irvin Waller, Professor (As an individual)
  • Janet Watson, Spokesperson and National Victims Coordinator (Mount Real Victims Group)
  • Vincent Westwick, Chair, Law Amendments Committee (Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police)
  • Ivan Zinger, Executive Director and General Counsel (Office of the Correctional Investigator)
Bill C-61, An Act to provide for the taking of restrictive measures in respect of the property of officials and former officials of foreign states and of their family members
AEFA (2011-03-10)
Monday, March 21, 2011 at 3:13 PM
  • The Honourable Lawrence Cannon, P.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs ()
  • The Honourable Robert Nicholson, M.P., P.C., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada (As an Individual)
  • Alan Kessel, Senior Legal Advisor (Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada)
  • Sabine Nolke, Director, United Nations, Human Rights and Economic Law Division (Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada)
  • Donald K. Piragoff, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Sector (Justice Canada)
Audio Webcast
Audio Webcast
Video Webcast
Video Webcast

Orders of Reference

A committee’s order of reference is the Order of the Senate that authorizes it to examine a bill or to undertake a special study. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. Three standing committees do, however, have permanent orders of reference, allowing them to undertake their work without waiting for a specific order of reference. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament (responsible for proposing amendments to the rules of the Senate, examining questions of privilege and consideration of the orders and customs of the Senate and privileges of Parliament), the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (responsible for the financial and administrative matters relating to the internal management of the Senate) and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.