Committees

Committees

Committees

All Studies & Bills

Information prior to the 40th Parliament is from notices of meetings. For the official record, please refer to the related minutes and transcripts.

There are limited electronic records available for the period prior to the 35th Parliament. For historical information, please contact: ctm@sen.parl.gc.ca or 1-800-267-7362

Studies & Bills Committee Date Referred  note  note
Review of Statutory Instruments
REGS (2015-12-10)
Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 8:39 AM
  • Lorne Neudorf, Deputy Dean of Law, Associate Professor, Adelaide Law School, University of Adelaide (As an Individual)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 at 8:40 AM
  • Paula Clarke, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section, Policy Sector (Department of Justice)
  • Doug Hoover, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section, Policy Sector (Department of Justice)
  • Donald Piragoff, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Sector (Department of Justice)
Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 8:32 AM
Thursday, October 19, 2017 at 8:31 AM
Thursday, September 28, 2017 at 8:34 AM
Thursday, June 15, 2017 at 9:00 AM
Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 8:32 AM
Thursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:30 AM
Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 8:30 AM
  • Bernard Auger, General Counsel, Legislative Services Branch (Department of Justice)
  • Brenda Baxter, Director General, Workplace Directorate, Labour Program (Employment, Workforce Development and Labour)
  • Mark McCombs, Senior General Counsel, Head of Legal Services (Department of Justice)
  • Gary Robertson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labour Program (Employment, Workforce Development and Labour)
Thursday, April 13, 2017 at 8:31 AM
Thursday, April 6, 2017 at 8:30 AM
Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 8:30 AM
Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 8:34 AM
  • Andrea Lyon, Deputy Minister (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
  • Susie Miller, Special Advisor (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
Thursday, February 9, 2017 at 8:30 AM
  • Mike Beale, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch (Environment Canada)
  • Gordon Hill, Senior Counsel (Department of Justice)
  • Danielle Rodrigue, Manager, Innovative Measures, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs (Environment Canada)
Thursday, February 2, 2017 at 8:32 AM
Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 8:32 AM
Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 8:30 AM
  • Greg Meredith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
  • Laurent Pellerin, Chairman (Farm Products Council of Canada)
Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 8:30 AM
  • Rachel Grasham, Director, Policy, Legislative and Cabinet Affairs Branch (Parks Canada)
  • Daniel Watson, Chief Executive Officer (Parks Canada)
Thursday, November 3, 2016 at 8:33 AM
Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 8:33 AM
Thursday, September 29, 2016 at 8:31 AM
Thursday, June 16, 2016 at 8:30 AM
  • Veronica McGuire, Executive Director, Program, Regulatory and Trade Policy (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)
Thursday, June 2, 2016 at 8:31 AM
  • John Moffet, Director General, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Directorate (Environment Canada)
  • Patricia Pledge, Senior Counsel, Advisory and Development Services Section (Department of Justice)
Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 8:31 AM
Thursday, May 5, 2016 at 8:31 AM
Thursday, April 21, 2016 at 8:32 AM
Thursday, April 14, 2016 at 8:31 AM
Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2016
NFFN (2015-12-08) Link to the briefs of this witness/study
Thursday, December 10, 2015 at 12:01 PM
  • Jamie Chai Yun Liew, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa (As an Individual)
  • Sidney Frank, Director General, Syria Refugee Project (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada)
  • Mike MacDonald, Director General, Operational Management and Coordination (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada)
  • Tony Matson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Chief Financial Officer (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada)
  • Daniel Mills, Director General, Financial Management (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada)
Wednesday, December 9, 2015 at 2:30 PM
  • Chief Superintendent Michael Duheme, Director (Parliamentary Protective Service)
  • Jean Forgues, Administrative & Personnel Officer (Parliamentary Protective Service)
  • Sloane Mask, Deputy Chief Financial Officer (Parliamentary Protective Service)
Wednesday, December 9, 2015 at 12:17 PM
  • Renée LaFontaine, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary, Corporate Services Sector (Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat)
  • Brian Pagan, Assistant Secretary, Expenditure Management Sector (Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat)
Legend
Audio Webcast
Audio Webcast
Video Webcast
Video Webcast
Meeting
Meeting
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness

Orders of Reference

A committee’s order of reference is the Order of the Senate that authorizes it to examine a bill or to undertake a special study. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. Three standing committees do, however, have permanent orders of reference, allowing them to undertake their work without waiting for a specific order of reference. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament (responsible for proposing amendments to the rules of the Senate, examining questions of privilege and consideration of the orders and customs of the Senate and privileges of Parliament), the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (responsible for the financial and administrative matters relating to the internal management of the Senate) and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.