The Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence

Senate Standing Committee on National Security and Defence Elects Senators Lang as Chair and Day as Deputy Chair

January 26, 2016

Ottawa – The members of the Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence elected Senator Daniel Lang (Yukon), as chair and Senator Joseph Day (Saint John-Kennebecasis - New Brunswick) as deputy chair of the committee.

“Since 2001, this Standing Senate Committee has diligently examined private members bills and government legislation such as Bill C-51, and produced numerous reports on issues of national security and defence, including its recent reports on the Canada Border Services Agency titled: Vigilance, Accountability and Security at Canada’s Borders (June 2015) and on terrorism, titled: Countering the Terrorist Threat in Canada: An Interim Report (July 2015),” said Lang. “I am honoured to be re-elected Chair and look forward to continuing our work on behalf of Canada and Canadians.”

“I am pleased to assume the role of Deputy Chair of the Senate Defence and Security Committee.” Added Senator Day. “Since joining the committee in 2001 when it was formed, I have seen the committee produce many comprehensive reports on a variety of topics. It is my hope that the committee can maintain its reputation of unbiased reporting through bipartisan cooperation and analysis.”

Senator Lang was summoned to the Senate on December 22, 2009. Since his appointment, he has served as a member of the Standing Committee on National Security and Defence, as well as on Legal and Constitutional Affairs; and Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources, and is currently on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration. He has served as chair of the National Security and Defence committee since April 2013.

Senator Day was summoned to the Senate on 4 October 2001, and has served on the committee since 2001. He has previously served the senate in numerous capacities, including most recently as Chair of the Standing Committee on National Finance and as Chair of the Subcommittee on Veterans Affairs.

The subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure will be composed of the committee chair, deputy chair and Senator Jean-Guy Dagenais (Victoria - Quebec).

Other members of the full committee include Senators: Lynn Beyak (Ontario); Claude Carignan, P.C. (Mille Isles – Quebec), Colin Kenny (Rideau - Ontario); Grant Mitchell (Alberta), Thanh Hai Ngo (Ontario) and Vernon White (Ontario).

The committee thanks Senator Carolyn Stewart Olsen (New Brunswick) for her service on the committee in the last session of Parliament.

The committee was first created in March 2001. Its mandate is to examine legislation and study issues related to national defence, security and veterans affairs.

To learn more about the work of the committee and read transcripts from previous meetings, please visit:

Follow the Senate of Canada on Twitter @SenateCA and use the committee hashtag #SECD for updates.

For more information, contact

Office of Senator Lang (613) 947-6234
Office of Senator Day (613) 992-0833