Please enable Javascript
Skip to Content
The Cannabis Act in the Senate
The Cannabis Act in the Senate
February 16, 2018
NEWS

The Senate of Canada is currently debating Bill C-45, the Cannabis Act.

Bill C-45 is a piece of government legislation that would legalize access to cannabis in Canada. The bill would also control and regulate how cannabis is grown, distributed and sold.

Bill C-45 was introduced in the Senate and given first reading on November 28, 2017. It was passed in the House of Commons on November 27, 2017.

The bill is being debated at second reading in the Senate; visit this page for the latest updates on the bill’s progress.

 

PROGRESS THROUGH PARLIAMENT

Image of the progress bar

 

RESOURCES: How a bill becomes a law Glossary of key Senate terms

 

Thursday, February 15, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, February 14, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, February 13, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, February 8, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, February 7, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, February 6, 2018
READ LISTEN

 

Thursday, February 1, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, November 30, 2017
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, November 28, 2017
READ LISTEN

 

SECOND READING

Image of tweet 2nd reading for Bill C45

FIRST READING

Image of tweet of first reading for Bill C45