Please enable Javascript
Skip to Content
The Cannabis Act in the Senate
The Cannabis Act in the Senate
April 19, 2018
NEWS

The Senate of Canada is currently debating Bill C-45, the Cannabis Act.

Bill C-45 is a piece of government legislation that would legalize access to cannabis in Canada. The bill would also control and regulate how cannabis is grown, distributed and sold.

Bill C-45 was introduced in the Senate and given first reading on November 28, 2017. It was passed in the House of Commons on November 27, 2017.

Bill C-45 was adopted at second reading in the Senate on March 22, 2018 and was referred to the Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology.

 

PROGRESS THROUGH PARLIAMENT

Image of the progress bar

 

RESOURCES: How a bill becomes a law Glossary of key Senate terms

 

SOCI - Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Bill C-45 was referred to the Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology after it was adopted at second reading in the Senate on March 22, 2018.


Pursuant to a motion adopted on February 15, 2018, four other Senate committees are currently studying aspects of the bill. These committees must report back to the Senate by May 1, 2018.

AEFA - Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade

The Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade is authorized to study the bill as it relates to Canada’s international obligations.

Read the report Read the news release


APPA - Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples

The Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples is authorized to study the bill as it relates to the Indigenous peoples of Canada.

Read the report Read the news release


LCJC - Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs

The Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs is authorized to study elements contained in parts 1, 2, 8, 9 and 14 of the bill.

Read the report Read the news release


SECD - Senate Committee on National Security and Defence

The Senate Committee on National Security and Defence is authorized to study the bill as it relates to Canada’s borders.

Read the report Read the news release

Thursday, March 22, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, March 21, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, March 1, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, February 27, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, February 15, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, February 14, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, February 13, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, February 8, 2018
READ LISTEN

Wednesday, February 7, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, February 6, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, February 1, 2018
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
READ LISTEN

Thursday, November 30, 2017
READ LISTEN

Tuesday, November 28, 2017
READ LISTEN

Click to read tweets related to the second reading of Bill C-45

Photo of Second Reading Twitter Moment

First reading of Bill C-45

Image of tweet of first reading for Bill C45