Next Section
The Senate of Canada Annual Report 2001-2002

 
   Foreword
· by the Speaker of the Senate
· by the Clerk of the Senate and
  Clerk of the Parliaments
Annual Report 2001-2002 Cover
Printable Version
Foreword by the Speaker of the Senate of Canada

It is with great pleasure that I launch the first Senate Annual Report, which provides an overview of activities in the Chamber, in committees, and by individual senators during 2001-2002. I hope that the report will prove of interest to long-term Senate observers, as well as enlighten those who are new to the work of our institution.

1.  The Senate in Context

Since Confederation, the Upper House has been a place where regional, provincial and minority interests are advocated, where legislation is examined and revised, and where national issues are investigated. It is a place where all regions are equally represented, regardless of how their populations fluctuate, to balance popular representation in the House of Commons or, as we refer to it, "the other place." Furthermore, given the nature of their mandate, senators and Senate committees can explore public policy issues in depth and relatively free from partisan political dynamics. This is the foundation on which the Senate serves Canadians.

2.  About Canada's Senators

3.
 The Senate's Role in the  Legislative Process
4.  The Senate and Canadians
5.  On the International Scene
6.  The Senate Administration
7.  How to Reach Us
   Appendices
  For the most part, the Senate agenda reflects national priorities, such as the economy, health care and the environment, to name just a few. However, international events can also have an impact on work in the Chamber and in committee. Sadly, this was the case during the Senate's current reporting period, with the terrorist attacks in the United States on September 11, 2001.

These acts of terrorism on North American soil propelled security, defence and immigration considerations to the forefront of the government's legislative agenda. In response, the Senate and the House of Commons undertook an urgent review of Bill C-11, An Act respecting immigration to Canada and the granting of refugee protection to persons who are displaced, persecuted or in danger, which was already on the Order Paper when the fall 2001 sittings began. The government also introduced Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Criminal Code, the Official Secrets Act, the Canada Evidence Act, the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) Act and other Acts, and to enact measures respecting the registration of charities in order to combat terrorism. The Senate Special Committee to examine Bill C-36, assigned to pre-study the bill before it passed from the House of Commons to the Senate, focused on its human rights and civil liberties implications. The committee's recommendations led many observers to remark on the key role of the Senate in ensuring changes to the more controversial elements of the legislation.

My colleagues and I are honoured by such expressions of confidence and support for the work of the Senate. As you read this report, I trust you will find its contents of interest and reach similar conclusions.

Dan Hays
Speaker of the Senate


 
Foreword by the Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments
Top of Page

Those of us who work in the Senate Administration are keenly aware of the range of legislative work undertaken in the Senate during 2001-2002. We are proud to be a part of this institution's achievements and feel privileged to work in support of our legislators, who share our dedication to fulfilling the Senate's mandate. As a result, we are very pleased with this opportunity to share information about our activities.

Although generations of Canadians are taught that, in the words of Sir John A. Macdonald, the Senate is the house of "sober second thought," relatively few understand what this means in practical terms. This annual report provides essential information about the "what, who, why and how" of the Senate. You will discover that, while Canada's first prime minister aptly characterized the institution, there is a great deal more to know about who senators are, what they do and how they are supported in fulfilling their constitutional mandate.

This report reinforces the spirit of public service and accountability that underlies our work in the Senate. I hope that it also demonstrates to readers the major role played by the Senate in ensuring that all legislation — whether it is introduced by individual senators or the government of the day — meets the social, economic and cultural needs of Canadians.

Paul C. Bélisle
Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments

Prochaine section
Rapport annuel du Sénat 2001-2002

 
   Avant-propos
·  du président du Sénat du Canada
· du greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements
Rapport annuel 2001-2002
Version imprimable
Avant-propos du président du Sénat du Canada

C'est pour moi un grand plaisir de lancer le premier rapport annuel du Sénat, qui donne une vue d'ensemble des activités du Sénat proprement dit, des comités et des divers sénateurs au cours de 2001-2002. J'espère que ce rapport saura intéresser ceux qui suivent les travaux du Sénat depuis longtemps et éclairer ceux qui s'y intéressent depuis peu.

Depuis la Confédération, la chambre haute est une institution où on défend les droits des régions, des provinces et des minorités, où on étudie et révise des textes législatifs, où on examine de grandes questions nationales. Toutes les régions y sont également représentées, indépendamment des fluctuations démographiques, pour faire contrepoids à la représentation selon la population, à la Chambre des communes, que nous appelons « l'autre endroit ». En outre, étant donné la nature de leur mandat, les sénateurs et les comités du Sénat peuvent étudier les questions de politique publique en profondeur, avec un minimum d'esprit partisan. Voilà comment le Sénat aborde son travail, au service des Canadiens.

1.  Le Sénat dans son contexte
2.  Les sénateurs du Canada
3.  Le rôle du Sénat dans
 le processus législatif
4.  Le Sénat et les Canadiens
5.  Sur la scène internationale
6.  L'administration du Sénat
7.  Comment nous joindre
   Annexes
 
 
Pour l'essentiel, le programme du Sénat reflète les priorités nationales comme l'économie, la santé et l'environnement, pour ne nommer que celles-là, mais des événements internationaux peuvent aussi influer sur les travaux de la chambre et des comités. Hélas, ce fut le cas pendant la période visée par le présent rapport, étant donné les attentats terroristes commis aux États-Unis le 11 septembre 2001.

Ces actes de terrorisme en sol nord-américain ont imposé la sécurité, la défense et l'immigration à l'avant-plan du programme législatif du gouvernement. C'est ainsi que le Sénat et les Communes ont entrepris l'étude urgente du projet de loi C-11, Loi concernant l'immigration au Canada et l'asile conféré aux personnes déplacées, persécutées ou en danger, qui était déjà au Feuilleton au début de la session de l'automne 2001. Le gouvernement a également présenté le projet de loi C-36, Loi modifiant le Code criminel, la Loi sur les secrets officiels, la Loi sur la preuve au Canada, la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et d'autres lois, et édictant des mesures à l'égard de l'enregistrement des organismes de bienfaisance, en vue de combattre le terrorisme. Le Comité spécial du Sénat chargé d'étudier le projet de loi C-36 avant son adoption aux Communes s'est attardé aux conséquences du projet de loi sur les droits de la personne et les libertés fondamentales. Les recommandations de ce comité ont amené maints observateurs à signaler le rôle clé du Sénat dans la modification des éléments les plus controversés du projet de loi.

Mes collègues et moi sommes honorés de ces expressions de confiance et de soutien à l'égard des travaux du Sénat. J'espère que la lecture de ce rapport saura vous intéresser et vous inspirer des conclusions semblables.

Le président du Sénat,
Dan Hays


 
Avant-propos du greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements
Top of Page

Ceux d'entre nous qui travaillent à l'administration du Sénat sont très conscients de l'ampleur des travaux législatifs accomplis par le Sénat en 2001-2002. Nous sommes fiers d'être associés aux réalisations de cette institution et nous nous considérons privilégiés d'être au service de nos législateurs, qui partagent notre dévouement à l'égard du mandat du Sénat. Aussi sommes-nous très heureux de pouvoir communiquer ici de l'information sur nos activités.

Bien qu'on ait appris à des générations de Canadiens que, pour reprendre les termes de sir John A. Macdonald, le Sénat est la chambre de second examen objectif, peu de gens en comprennent la signification concrète. Le présent rapport annuel propose l'information essentielle sur le Sénat : ce qu'il est, qui le compose, quelle est sa raison d'être et comment il travaille. Vous constaterez que, si le premier des premiers ministres du Canada a fort bien décrit l'institution, il y a beaucoup d'autres choses à apprendre sur les sénateurs, leur travail et les services qui leur sont offerts pour s'acquitter du mandat que la Constitution leur confie.

Le présent rapport confirme l'esprit de service public et de responsabilité qui inspire notre travail au Sénat. J'espère qu'il fera également comprendre au lecteur le rôle important que joue cette institution pour faire en sorte que toutes les mesures législatives, qu'elles soient proposées par des sénateurs ou par le gouvernement en place, répondent aux besoins sociaux, économiques et culturels des Canadiens.

Le greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements,
Paul C. Bélisle