Top of Page
Top of Page
Next Section
The Senate of Canada Annual Report 2002-2003

  Foreword  
  by the Speaker of the Senate of Canada  
  by the Chair of the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration  
  by the Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments  

1.

The Senate in Context  

2.

About Canada's Senators  

3.

The Senate's Role in the Legislative Process  

4.

The Senate - Active, in Touch, in Tune  

5.

The Senate on the World Stage  

6.

The Senate Administration  

7.

How to Reach Us  
  Appendices  
     
     
   
   

Foreword by the Speaker of the Senate of Canada

It is with pride that I submit to you the 2002-2003 Annual Report of the Senate of Canada. The report gives an account of most of the activities undertaken by the Senate and its committees, as well as certain initiatives of individual senators. It should be noted that this report covers the period from April 1, 2002, to March 31, 2003, and thus straddles two sessions of the 37th Parliament. (The first session ran from January 29, 2001, to September 16, 2002, while the second started on September 30, 2002, and was still under way on March 31, 2003.)

Canada's senators are more than lawmakers in the strict sense of the word. Given the nature of their mandate, they are able to study public policy issues in great depth, largely unfettered by partisan thinking. Over the past year, they focused their attention on issues with broad ramifications - Canada's drug policy on cannabis, the health of Canadians, intercity bus transportation and airport security, to name but a few. There were hours of debate in the Chamber and hundreds of witnesses heard in committee.

The report also bears witness to the Senate's very active role on the international stage. The productive relationships we maintain with the representatives of other parliamentary institutions confirm our own institution's vitality, legitimacy, usefulness and raison d'être.

Dan Hays
Speaker of the Senate


Foreword by the Chair of the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration

As the body mandated to examine all financial and administrative matters related to the Senate's internal management, the Committee that I have the honour of chairing endeavours to ensure the responsible use of public funds received by the Senate to carry out its functions. The Committee is aware of the intrinsic ethical aspect of its mandate and is careful to act as a trustee for and on behalf of the Canadian people. Its decisions are always guided by concern for accountability and transparency.

The Senate and its internal operations consistently strive for efficiency in the best interests of all Canadians. This report is the permanent record of the highlights of 2002-2003 and an account of senators' activities as legislators.

I am particularly proud of last fiscal year's achievements. I welcome this opportunity to point out that all this good work was made possible by the dedication and professionalism of the Senate Administration, all of whom I wish to thank. At all levels, the Senate team is made up of motivated and determined people who provide service of the highest possible quality.

Lise Bacon
Chair, Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration


Foreword by the Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments

The Senate Administration, which I have the privilege of directing, is at the service of senators. Its mission is to facilitate their work and the attainment of their objectives as parliamentarians and key players in the Canadian legislative process. To do so, the Senate Administration depends on human and financial resources, for which it is accountable.

An annual report is an opportunity to look back over what has been done, to see what progress has been made, and to feel justifiably proud.

We appreciate the opportunity that has been given us here to convey information on our activities, accomplishments and projects, as well as financial data for the 2002-2003 fiscal year. This report also gives an overview of basic facts about the Senate as an institution: What is the Senate? Who makes up the Senate? Why does Canada have an Upper House? How does the Senate go about its daily work? The answers to all these questions are in this report. Newcomers to the parliamentary scene will welcome the information, and old hands may be surprised to find that they did not know as much as they thought.

The Senate is guided by an unwavering concern to do its job in the best interests of all Canadians, no matter where they live and no matter where they are from. This report reflects the Senate's sense of responsibility and confirms its desire to serve.

Paul C. Bélisle
Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments

Top of Page
Top of Page
Next Section
Rapport annuel du Sénat du Canada 2002-2003

  Avant-propos  
  du président du Sénat du Canada  
  de la présidente du Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration  
  du greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements  

1.

Le Sénat dans son contexte  

2.

Les sénateurs du Canada  

3.

Le rôle du Sénat dans le processus législatif  

4.

Une institution vivante, présente et à l'écoute  

5.

Sur la scène internationale  

6.

L'administration du Sénat  

7.

Comment nous joindre  
  Annexes  
     
     
   
   

Avant-propos du président du Sénat du Canada

C'est avec fierté que je vous présente le Rapport annuel 2002-2003 du Sénat du Canada. Vous y trouverez compilées la plupart des activités du Sénat et de ses comités, ainsi que certaines initiatives de sénateurs, considérés individuellement. Il est à noter que le présent rapport couvre la période s'étalant du 1er avril 2002 au 31 mars 2003 et chevauche donc deux sessions de la 37e législature (la première s'échelonnant du 29 janvier 2001 au 16 septembre 2002 et la seconde ayant débuté le 30 septembre 2002 et se poursuivant toujours au 31 mars 2003).

Dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions, les sénateurs vont au-delà de leur strict rôle de législateurs. Étant donné la nature de leur mandat, ils sont en mesure d'étudier les questions de politique publique en profondeur, avec un minimum d'esprit partisan. Au cours de l'année écoulée, ils se sont attaqués avec application à des questions aux ramifications multiples, entre autres la politique antidrogue canadienne sur le cannabis, la santé des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, le transport interurbain par autobus ou encore, les mesures de sécurité dans les aéroports. Cela s'est traduit par de nombreuses heures de débat en chambre et par lacomparution de centaines de témoins devant ses divers comités.

Ce rapport témoigne également du grand dynamisme dont a fait preuve le Sénat sur la scène internationale. Les relations fructueuses que nous entretenons avec les représentants d'autres régimes parlementaires témoignent éloquemment de la vitalité, de la légitimité, de l'utilité et du bien-fondé de notre institution.

Le président du Sénat,
Daniel Hays


Avant-propos de la présidente du Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration

En tant qu'organe chargé d'examiner toutes les questions d'ordre financier ou administratif relatives à la gestion interne du Sénat, le comité que j'ai l'honneur de présider cherche à garantir l'utilisation responsable des fonds publics alloués au Sénat pour lui permettre d'accomplir ses fonctions. Conscient de la responsabilité éthique intrinsèque de sa mission, ce comité agit en tant que fiduciaire, pour le peuple canadien et en son nom. En ce sens, il est constamment guidé par un souci d'imputabilité et de transparence dans ses prises de décisions.

Le Sénat et ses rouages tendent toujours vers l'efficience, dans l'intérêt supérieur de l'ensemble des Canadiens et des Canadiennes. Ce rapport se veut la mémoire des principaux faits marquants survenus au cours de l'année 2002-2003 et un compte-rendu des activités engagées par les sénateurs à titre de législateurs.

Je suis particulièrement fière du travail accompli au cours de l'année écoulée. Je profite de l'occasion pour souligner que tout ce labeur résulte du dévouement et du professionnalisme des membres de l'administration du Sénat et je tiens à les en remercier ici. À tous les niveaux, l'équipe du Sénat regroupe des personnes motivées et déterminées qui effectuent des prestations de première qualité.

La présidente du Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration,
Lise Bacon


Avant-propos du greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements

L'administration du Sénat que j'ai le privilège de diriger est au service des sénateurs. Sa mission consiste à faciliter leur travail et l'atteinte des objectifs fixés à titre de parlementaires et d'acteurs clés dans le contexte du processus législatif canadien. Pour ce faire, l'administration du Sénat a recours à des ressources humaines et financières dont elle doit rendre compte.

La production d'un rapport annuel est l'occasion de faire le bilan du travail accompli, de constater les progrès réalisés et d'en tirer une fierté légitime.

Nous apprécions l'occasion qui s'offre de communiquer l'information concernant nos activités, nos réalisations et nos projets, ainsi que les données financières pour l'exercice de 2002-2003. En prime, le présent rapport offre un survol des données fondamentales concernant le Sénat en tant qu'institution. Qu'est-ce que le Sénat? Qui le compose? Quelle est sa raison d'être? Comment accomplit-il son travail au quotidien? Voilà autant de questions auxquelles le lecteur, novice ou rompu à la scène parlementaire, trouvera réponse ici.

Le Sénat est guidé par le souci constant de mener ses travaux dans le meilleur intérêt
des gens de ce pays, où qu'ils vivent et de quelque origine qu'ils soient. Le présent
rapport se veut une illustration de son sens des responsabilités et une confirmation de
son désir de servir.

Le greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements,
Paul C. Bélisle