Next Section
The Senate of Canada Annual Report 2003-2004

  Foreword  
  by the Speaker of the Senate of Canada  
  by the Chair of the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration  
  by the Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments  

1.

The Senate in Canada's Parliamentary System  

2.

Legislation in the Senate  

3.

The Senate's Committee Work  

4.

The Senate in Canadian Communities  

5.

The Senate on the World Stage  

6.

Supporting the Work of Senators  

7.

Financial Statements  

8.

How to Reach Us  
  Appendices  

Dan Hays
 
Foreword by the Speaker

I am pleased to submit the 2003–2004 Senate of Canada Annual Report, which covers the period from April 1, 2003 to March 31, 2004, a period that straddled the last two sessions of the 37th Parliament ― the 2nd Session (September 30, 2002 to November 12, 2003) and 3rd Session (February 2 to May 23, 2004).

This annual report highlights some of the Senate’s key contributions to the legislative process at the federal level, its local community involvement in cities and towns across Canada, and its international activities promoting Canada abroad.

In 2003–2004, senators reviewed a total of 77 bills, of which 34 were passed, including highly publicized bills that sometimes provoked intensely personal responses, or sparked deeply passionate debate. Among them were:

  • Bill C-45, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (criminal liability of organizations), part of the Government’s response to the Westray mine tragedy, which took the lives of 26 miners at Plymouth, Pictou County, Nova Scotia, on Saturday, May 9, 1992;
  • Bill C-6, Assisted Human Reproduction Act, which prohibits assisted reproduction procedures; and
  • Bill C-250, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (hate propaganda), which added sexual orientation to the list of identifiable groups relating to the area of hate propaganda in the Criminal Code.

Senators were also active in committees, producing 144 reports on a wide range of timely and topical issues, such as:

  • how the health care system responds to outbreaks of infections disease, such as Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS), mad cow disease and the West Nile Virus;
  • how climate change affects agriculture and rural communities; and
  • restoring investor confidence in capital markets.

Finally, the importance of Canada’s place in the world was underlined not only by the continued work of senators through their official visits abroad and their participation in interparliamentary associations and international organizations, but also by the words of United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan during his two-day visit to our nation’s capital in March 2004: “For years, Canada has been one of the pillars of the United Nations,” he said. “In fact, it would be difficult to imagine the United Nations without Canada. Multicultural and bilingual, your country is a model amongst the members of the organization.”

My colleagues and I welcome your attention to this report and hope that it provides you with a better understanding of our work on behalf of all Canadians from coast to coast to coast.

Senator Dan Hays
Speaker of the Senate

Top of Page


Lise Bacon
 
Foreword by the Chair of the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration

Recent events in both the private and public sectors have catapulted institutional accountability and transparency to the forefront of public debate.

This annual report is one way in which the Senate aims to address these issues head-on, in order to provide Canadians with a clear and comprehensive account of its expenditures and activities, whether in the Senate Chamber, in committees, or in communities big and small across this country and around the world.

The Internal Economy Committee considers all financial and administrative matters related to the Senate’s internal management, from reviewing and authorizing committee budgets to setting guidelines and policies. The Senate’s financial statements for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2004 are included in this report.

In 2003–2004, the Internal Economy Committee also worked on new measures to make the proceedings in the Senate Chamber more accessible to the hearing-impaired through real-time captioning and to enhance the ability of Canadians to follow the work of the Senate through a renewed broadcasting agreement with CPAC, Canada’s political television channel.

More than a workplace for parliamentarians and parliamentary staff, Parliament Hill is a national symbol and architectural gem that belongs to all Canadians. Mindful of this fact, the Internal Economy Committee continued its efforts on the Senate’s behalf to ensure that “the Hill” remain a secure environment for visitors by recommending the establishment of new security working groups that would respect the independence of both Houses of Parliament, while enhancing co-operation, communication and coordination, and formalizing the involvement of the RCMP.

Of course, senators’ work on behalf of Canadians is not done in isolation. Our efforts are supported by our staff and Senate Administration employees. At the close of another fiscal year, their dedication and devotion to public service must also be congratulated and encouraged.

Senator Lise Bacon
Chair, Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration

Top of Page


Paul C. Bélisle
 
Foreword by the Clerk

Supporting Senators in their parliamentary role is the “raison d’être” of the Senate Administration. Through the teamwork of employees in its 12 directorates, the Senate Administration provides senators with services in legislation, parliamentary law and procedure, human resources, financial management, communications, information management, infrastructure and security. We are proud to work in support of senators and to share their dedication in fulfilling the Senate's mandate.

Though much of their work may be done behind the scenes, Senate Administration staff are nevertheless front and centre when it comes to living our shared values of leadership, diversity and community service.

Ensuring modern, effective and accountable management practices remains a priority for the Senate Administration. In 2003–2004, a new framework for delegation of authority related to financial and human resources management was put in place.  No less important is the Administration’s ongoing commitment to building a representative, diverse and skilled workforce.  A multiyear Human Resources modernization process was set in motion to streamline and modernize staffing policies, and develop flexible human resources practices while utilizing new technologies to the fullest.  Enhancements to the Senate’s recruitment practices will serve to ensure high calibre recruits and increased diversity. The Senate also continued to increase accessibility for persons with disabilities when renovating offices and committee rooms, and implementing the use of new real-time captioning technology to encourage and facilitate Canadians’ participation in, and access to, the work of the Senate.

This year saw the realignment of the Senate’s legislative sector to establish a more efficient procedural and parliamentary information management system. The Legislative Support Office is also now responsible for managing television broadcasts of Senate committee proceedings, and administering the Senate’s new CPAC broadcasting agreement.

The Senate’s commitment to the environment was underlined this year by the EcoLogoM certification of its printing services by Environment Canada’s Environmental ChoiceM Program. Printed materials, including legislative documents like Hansard and the Order Paper, are now produced in ways that improve energy efficiency, reduce hazardous by-products, or use recycled or re-usable materials. The Senate’s printing services also meet or exceed any applicable industry-specific safety and performance standards. Furthermore, the Senate, the House of Commons and the Library of Parliament entered have joined together in  the environmental management of Parliament Hill under a revitalized program entitled “Partners for a Green Hill―Preserving our Past, Protecting our Future.”

Working with Canada’s youth remained another integral part of the Senate’s outreach programs. In May 2003, I joined fellow alumni at the first annual Senate Page Program alumni reception.  Together we celebrated more than 60 years of Canadian youth supporting the work of the Senate in the Chamber and in committees. This year also saw the program’s accreditation by the University of Ottawa and Carleton University.

As head of the Administration, it is with great pride that I invite you to read more about the great accomplishments of the 2003–2004 fiscal year in the pages that follow.

Paul C. Bélisle
Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments

Top of Page

Prochaine
Rapport annuel du Sénat du Canada 2003-2004

  Avant-propos  
  du président du Sénat du Canada  
  de la présidente du Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration  
  du greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements  

1.

Le Sénat dans le régime parlementaire du Canada  

2.

La législation au Sénat  

3.

Le travail des comités sénatoriaux  

4.

Le Sénat dans les collectivités canadiennes  

5.

Le Sénat sur la scène internationale  

6.

Assister les sénateurs dans leur travail  

7.

États financiers  

8.

Comment nous joindre  
  Annexes  
     
     
   
   
Dan Hays
 

Avant-propos du Président du Sénat

Je suis heureux de présenter le Rapport annuel 2003-2004 du Sénat du Canada pour la période comprise entre le 1er avril 2003 et le 31 mars 2004 qui chevauche les deux dernières sessions de la 37e législature : la 2e, du 30 septembre 2002 au 30 novembre 2003 et la 3e, du 2 février au 23 mai 2004.

Le rapport annuel souligne quelques-unes des contributions clés du Sénat au processus législatif fédéral, sa présence active dans certaines villes du Canada et ses activités sur la scène internationale pour faire la promotion du Canada à l'étranger.

En 2003-2004, les sénateurs ont étudié 77 projets de loi dont 34 ont été adoptés, notamment des projets de loi dont on a parlé abondamment et qui ont provoqué des réactions profondément personnelles ou soulevé des débats extrêmement passionnés. Ce sont entre autres :

  • le projet de loi C-45, Loi modifiant le Code criminel (responsabilité pénale des organisations), qui fait partie de la réponse du gouvernement à la tragédie de la mine Westray dans laquelle 26 mineurs ont perdu la vie à Plymouth, Pictou County (Nouvelle-Écosse), le samedi 9 août 1992;
  • le projet de loi C-6, Loi concernant la procréation assistée et la recherche connexe, qui interdit les techniques de reproduction assistée;
  • le projet de loi C-250, Loi modifiant le Code criminel (propagande haineuse), qui a ajouté l'orientation sexuelle à la liste des caractéristiques par lesquelles se différencie un groupe identifiable au sens des dispositions du Code criminel applicables à la propagande haineuse.

Les sénateurs ont également été actifs aux comités puisqu'ils ont produit 144 rapports sur un large éventail de sujets d'actualité et pointus, notamment :

  • le mode d'intervention du système de santé lors d'une flambée d'une maladie infectieuse telle que le syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère (SRAS), la maladie de la vache folle ou le virus du Nil occidental;
  • l'incidence du changement climatique sur les communautés rurales et l'agriculture;
  • le rétablissement de la confiance des investisseurs dans le marché financier.

Enfin, l'importance du Canada dans le monde a été remarquée non seulement grâce au travail acharné et incessant des sénateurs qui multiplient les visites officielles à l'étranger et qui participent aux associations parlementaires et aux organisations internationales, mais aussi grâce au secrétaire-général des Nations Unies, Kofi Annan, qui a déclaré lors de sa visite de deux jours dans la capitale fédérale en mars 2004 : « Depuis des années, le Canada est un des piliers de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. En effet, il serait difficile d'imaginer l'ONU sans le Canada, et j'irais même jusqu'à dire qu'il serait difficile d'imaginer le Canada sans l'ONU. Multiculturel et bilingue, votre pays fait figure de modèle parmi le monde de l'Organisation. »

Mes collègues et moi voulons que vous lisiez notre rapport en espérant qu'il vous aide à mieux comprendre le travail que nous effectuons au nom de l'ensemble des Canadiens d'un océan à l'autre.

Le Président du Sénat,
Dan Hays

Dessus de page


Lise Bacon
 

Avant-propos de la présidente du Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration

Des événements survenus dernièrement, tant dans le secteur public que dans le secteur privé, ont projeté la reddition de comptes et la transparence au premier plan des discussions sur la chose publique.

Notre rapport annuel est l'un des moyens dont le Sénat dispose pour s'acquitter de ces deux obligations puisqu'il fournit à la population canadienne un compte rendu clair et complet de ses dépenses et de toutes les activités qui se passent dans la salle du Sénat, dans ses comités ou dans des localités, petites et grandes, au Canada comme à l'étranger.

Le Comité de la régie interne étudie toutes les affaires financières et administratives se rapportant à la gestion interne du Sénat, depuis l'examen et l'autorisation des budgets des comités jusqu'à l'établissement des lignes directrices et des politiques. Les états financiers du Sénat pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2004 se trouvent dans le rapport.

En 2003-2004, le Comité de la régie interne a aussi travaillé sur de nouvelles mesures qui rendront les délibérations du Sénat accessibles aux malentendants grâce au sous-titrage en temps réel et qui permettront aux Canadiens de suivre plus facilement le travail du Sénat puisque le contrat de radiodiffusion avec CPAC, la chaîne politique du Canada, a été renouvelé.

En plus d'être le lieu de travail des parlementaires et de leur personnel, la colline du Parlement est un symbole national et un joyau architectural qui appartient à tous les Canadiens. Conscient de ce fait, le Comité de la régie interne a poursuivi, pour le compte du Sénat, ses efforts en vue d'assurer la sécurité « sur la Colline » de tous les visiteurs; il a ainsi recommandé la création de nouveaux groupes de travail sur la sécurité qui respecteront l'indépendance des deux Chambres du Parlement tout en améliorant la coopération, la communication et la coordination entre elles, et tout en officialisant la participation de la GRC.

Bien entendu, le travail effectué par les sénateurs au nom des Canadiens ne se fait pas en vase clos. Notre personnel et les employés de l'administration du Sénat soutiennent notre effort. Alors qu'un nouvel exercice touche à sa fin, leur dévouement et leur engagement au service de la société leur méritent félicitations et encouragements.

La présidente du Comité permanent de la régie interne,
des budgets et de l'administration,
Lise Bacon

Dessus de page


Paul C. Bélisle
 

 

Avant-propos du greffier du Sénat

Appuyer les sénateurs dans leur rôle parlementaire est la raison d'être de l'administration du Sénat. Grâce au travail d'équipe des employés de ses 12 directions, l'administration du Sénat fournit aux sénateurs des services dans divers domaines, notamment la législation, le droit et la procédure parlementaire, les ressources humaines, la gestion financière, les communications, la gestion de l'information, l'infrastructure et la sécurité. Nous sommes fiers de soutenir les sénateurs et de les aider à bien remplir le mandat du Sénat.

Leur travail a beau se faire presque exclusivement dans l'ombre, le personnel de l'administration du Sénat est néanmoins omniprésent et ne donne pas sa place pour incarner nos valeurs communes que sont le leadership, la diversité et le service à la collectivité.

Utiliser des pratiques de gestion modernes, efficaces et responsables demeure une priorité pour l'administration du Sénat. En 2003‑2004, un nouveau cadre de délégation de pouvoirs pour la gestion des ressources humaines et financières a été instauré. L'engagement de l'administration à faire en sorte que ses effectifs soient représentatifs, variés et compétents est toujours tout aussi important. Un processus pluriannuel de modernisation des ressources humaines a été adopté afin de simplifier et de moderniser les pratiques de dotation et d'établir des pratiques flexibles en matière de ressources humaines tout en utilisant le plus possible les nouvelles technologies. Les améliorations apportées aux pratiques de recrutement du Sénat assureront une plus grande diversité et le recrutement de personnel hautement qualifié. Le Sénat a également continué de faire sauter les barrières qui entravent les personnes handicapées en rénovant les bureaux et les salles de comités et en installant une nouvelle technologie de sous-titrage en temps réel pour que les Canadiens puissent plus facilement suivre les travaux du Sénat et y participer.

Le réalignement du secteur législatif du Sénat qui a été effectué cette année a permis d'établir un meilleur système de gestion de l'information procédurale et parlementaire. Le Bureau du soutien législatif gère désormais la télédiffusion des délibérations des comités sénatoriaux, ainsi que la nouvelle entente de télédiffusion conclue entre le Sénat et la CPAC.

L'engagement du Sénat envers l'environnement a été confirmé cette année lorsque le programme Choix environnementalM d'Environnement Canada a accordé l'attestation Éco‑LogoM à ses services d'imprimerie. Les documents imprimés du Sénat, notamment les documents législatifs comme le hansard ou le Feuilleton, sont maintenant produits de façon à améliorer l'efficacité énergétique, à diminuer les sous-produits dangereux ou à utiliser des matériaux recyclés ou réutilisables. Les services d'imprimerie du Sénat répondent à toutes les normes de sécurité et de performance propres au secteur, voire les excèdent. De plus, le Sénat a formé un partenariat avec la Chambre des communes et la Bibliothèque du Parlement pour une gestion écologique de la colline du Parlement, dans le cadre d'un programme dynamisé appelé « Partenaires pour une Colline verte – Préserver notre passé, protéger notre avenir ».

Travailler avec les jeunes Canadiens fait aussi partie intégrante des programmes d'initiation du Sénat. En mai 2003, nous étions une cinquantaine d'anciens pages comme moi à assister à la première réception annuelle des anciens du Programme des pages du Sénat pour célébrer le 60e anniversaire de ce programme qui permet à des jeunes Canadiens de soutenir le Sénat dans ses travaux à la Chambre et en comités. Cette année, le programme donne même droit à des crédits à l'Université d'Ottawa et à l'Université Carleton.

En ma qualité de chef de l'administration, je suis extrêmement fier de vous inviter à lire les pages qui suivent pour en savoir plus long sur les grandes réalisations de l'exercice 2003-2004.

Le greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements,
Paul C. Bélisle Dessus de page