Next Section

The Senate of Canada Annual Report 2005-2006


  Foreword  

1.

Canada's senators  

2.

Senators and legislation  

3.

Senators and their committees  

4.

Senators' activities  

5.

The Senate's administration  

6.

Facts and figures  

7.

Conclusion | Contact us  

8.

Appendix  

it's been said before ... debate is crucial to democracy.

If debate is enthusiastic, widespread, comprehensive, and above all, encouraged, then our political system, however imperfect, is still serving us well. In fact, more debate is what the Fathers of Confederation gave us the Senate for: a chamber free to represent the interests of regions and minorities, instead of populations and majorities, and to check what could otherwise be the domination of Parliament by a majority government, with its potential for stifling disagreement.

There is always danger, in a representative democracy, that the processes of getting power and keeping it will prevail over making the best use of that power. A democracy works well only if it has some understanding of its own weaknesses, and tries to provide for them. Up to now, the Senate of Canada has helped us do that.

National Post - Gerald Owen

 It's a sign of the strength of our democracy that one of our most passionate national debates concerns one of our houses of Parliament. That we can freely criticize, praise, or suggest changes to our political system is a wonderful thing. But another truism of democracy is that good information is the foundation of good debate. Without debate, our thought becomes stagnant; but without accurate information, the results of our debate can be dangerous.

This annual report aims to add some information to the debate.

Top of Page

Noël A. Kinsella
As senators, our first responsibility is to determine how we can best serve Canadians now and in the future, as individuals, and as an institution.

People all over the world long to live in a country like Canada, in peace and freedom, and with the right to participate in expressing our values and shaping the country through our democratic parliamentary system.

Canadian citizens are guaranteed rights and freedoms seldom matched or exceeded elsewhere. From the beginning, our parliamentary system has ensured that every citizen is represented in debating and passing legislation that enshrines deeply-held Canadian values.

As Sir John A. Macdonald stated during the debates leading to Confederation in 1867, the Senate was intended to be "a regulating body, calmly considering the legislation initiated by the popular branch and preventing any hasty or ill-considered legislation which may come from that body…."

As senators, our first responsibility is to determine how we can best serve Canadians now and in the future, as individuals, and as an institution. It was with this uppermost in mind, and with a deep appreciation of the Senate's history and tradition, that I accepted the role of Speaker of the Senate in February 2006. It is a privilege and an honour to be playing a part in the evolution of the institution at this interesting point in its history.

We hope this annual report gives you, the reader, a better sense of how we work at the Senate and that the information it contains illustrates how committed senators are to making their vision of Canada a reality.

Noël A. Kinsella
Speaker of the Senat

Top of Page


George Furey
Our administration makes good use of the funds entrusted to it, ensuring that senators are served efficiently as they carry out their responsibilities.

The Standing Senate Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration, which I am honoured to chair, directs and oversees the internal administrative and financial workings of the Senate. It does so on behalf of all senators, and in turn, all Canadians.

The members of this committee are highly aware of their responsibilities; it is critical for our houses of Parliament to stand as examples of good governance for all corporate organizations. This is particularly true because our "shareholders" include every one of Canada's 32.5 million people, from the elderly woman who relies on the veterans' pension plan to the premature baby nursed and nurtured by our socialized medical system. Spending tax dollars wisely is a moral and ethical responsibility.

To this end, I am glad to report that the Senate continued to provide excellent value to Canadians in fiscal year 2005-06. Our administration makes good use of the funds entrusted to it, ensuring that senators are served efficiently as they carry out their responsibilities. I am also pleased to note that the first Senate Ethics Officer, Jean T. Fournier, assumed the duties of his office on April 1, 2005. This independent officer will add to the transparency of senators' activities, making the entire institution even more accountable to the people it serves.

I hope that this annual report, as another tool for increasing accountability to the public, is useful to its readers. It certainly reflects the hard work of both senators and the Senate Administration on behalf of Canadians.

George J. Furey, Q.C.
Chair, Standing Committee
on Internal Economy,
Budgets and Administration

Top of Page



Paul C. Bélisle
We are proud of our accomplishments, past and present. We are proud of how we continue to improve within our tradition of supporting senators as they work to make Canada a better society.

For 139 years, under 39 consecutive Parliaments, the Senate Administration has worked diligently to provide senators with the tools they need to effectively serve and represent Canadians. These tools have evolved considerably since the first group of senators took their seats in 1867; it's unlikely they could have imagined the possibilities that webcasting, network drives and commercial air travel have opened up to their counterparts today. But I am sure that the same spirit of hard work and collective pride has motivated Administration employees through the years - the same sense of shouldering a shared task important to all Canadians that is such an important part of the Senate Administration's character today.

This organization, which I head, was comprised of roughly 450 officials, managers and employees in 2005-06. Our people work to support senators inside and outside the Senate chamber with telecommunications and IT expertise, security, human resources support, materiel management, and communications and procedural advice, among many other services. There are as many roles in the Administration as there are ways for senators to do their job. These roles are filled by experts in their fields whose work enhances the effectiveness and efficiency of our organization.

Like any good corporate body, the Administration continues to improve its work methods, discover synergies and explore creative ways to save Canadians money. As you will read in Chapter Five of this annual report, we have made some significant gains over fiscal year 2005-06.

We are proud of our accomplishments, past and present. We are proud of how we continue to improve within our tradition of supporting senators as they work to make Canada a better society. We are proud of our contribution to the Senate's work on behalf of Canadians.

Paul C. Bélisle
Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments

Dessus de page


This annual report details the activities of senators and the Senate Administration for fiscal year 2005-06. The first four chapters highlight the roles senators play as members of a legislature and as members of society. The last chapter gives information about the red chamber's administrative activities, finances and employees.

We hope you find this document useful. Above all, we hope it adds to a wide-ranging, hearty debate about the value of this institution. Debate, after all, is what the Senate was made for.

Let's continue the debate.


Dessus de page


Let's see it

the way the Fathers of Confederation did: the dilemma of a single house of Parliament, ruled by a majority, directed by Cabinet, disregarding debate to push through an agenda. The populous central provinces outweighing the opinions of other regions with their representation by population. Minority opinions briefly entertained, then dismissed. Majority power unchecked, with its potential for abuse.

Fathers of Confederation

Photo: "The Fathers of Confederation" by Rex Woods, 1969 (oil). Reproduced with the permission of Rogers Communications Inc.

Their solution?

The Senate. A second body to deliver more debate. An institution representing regions, not majorities. Political, yes, but more independent: less easily swayed by party leadership, the short-term vision of re-election, the hope of advancement. Weight in the scale to balance the potential for a "tyranny of the majority."

It's a vision that senators work hard to maintain.
This year...

They championed minorities

They championed

minorities and the disenfranchised. From Senator Munson's crusade for medicare support for autistic children to Senator Watt's guarding of the Inuit right to traditional hunting practices, senators protected the rights of minorities and the disenfranchised and ensured our democratic responsibility to respect the underrepresented.

They represented

their regions. Senators often speak with their region's voice. Senator Carney raised the alarm on the disconnection of Pacific coast foghorns in response to the concerns of BC coastal municipalities. Senator Sibbeston gained attention for the Northwest Territory's concerns about the impact of expanding Nahanni National Park on regional economic development. In the Senate chamber and out, senators spoke up for their people.

They represented their regions

They challenged us to question our assumptions

They challenged

us to question our assumptions. Senate committee reports have impact. Reports on the security of our borders, the lack of structures to heal the mentally ill and the state of our water supply have injected life into national debate. Despite four months of dissolution for the election of 2006, Senate committees undertook 38 social and economic studies this year. They spent 830 hours listening to Canadians, hearing from over 1,300 witnesses, and reported what they heard.

They improved

our laws. Committees gave 51 bills their attention this year, scrutinizing each bill they passed clause by clause. Senators spent nearly 80 hours debating bills in the chamber and 175 hours considering them in committee. Their amendments made for better laws. The Senate is more than a "chamber of sober second thought." It takes action.

They improved our laws

This is the work Canada's senators did in 2005-2006.

Prochaine

Rapport annuel du Sénat du Canada 2005-2006


  Avant-propos  

1.

Les sénateurs du Canada  

2.

Les sénateurs et la législation  

3.

Les sénateurs et leurs comités  

4.

Les activités des sénateurs  

5.

L'Administration du Sénat  

6.

Faits et chiffres  

7.

Conclusion | Pour nour joindre  

8.

Annexes  

tous savent que... le débat est essentiel à la démocratie.

Si le débat est animé, vaste, approfondi et, surtout, encouragé, alors notre système politique, aussi imparfait soit-il, nous sert bien encore. En fait, c'est précisément pour que le débat puisse être poussé plus loin que les Pères de la Confédération nous ont donné le Sénat : une chambre pouvant librement représenter les intérêts des régions et des minorités, par opposition aux intérêts des populations et des majorités, et empêcher la domination du Parlement par un gouvernement majoritaire, avec les risques sous-jacents de musellement des voix dissidentes.

Au sein d'une démocratie représentative, il existe toujours un danger que les processus qui mènent au pouvoir et qui permettent de le garder l'emportent sur la meilleure utilisation qui sera faite de ce pouvoir. Une démocratie fonctionne bien uniquement si elle comprend ses lacunes et essaie d'y remédier. Jusqu'à maintenant, le Sénat du Canada nous a aidés à y arriver.

National Post - Gerald Owen

Que l'un de nos débats nationaux qui suscitent le plus de passion porte sur l'une des chambres du Parlement en dit long sur la vigueur de notre démocratie. Et que nous puissions librement critiquer ou vanter notre système politique ou encore y proposer des changements est vraiment extraordinaire. Une autre vérité, à propos de la démocratie, c'est que l'information à la base de tout débat doit être exacte. Sans débat, nos réflexions restent stagnantes, mais sans information exacte, les débats peuvent donner des résultats dangereux.

Ce rapport annuel tente de contribuer au débat

Top of Page

Noël A. Kinsella
"Notre responsabilité première comme sénateurs, que ce soit à titre d'individus ou en tant qu'institution, c'est de déterminer le meilleur moyen de servir les Canadiens à l'heure actuelle et dans les années à venir."

Beaucoup d'habitants de la planète rêvent de vivre dans un pays de paix et de liberté comme le Canada, où ils auraient le droit de participer à l'affirmation de ses valeurs et de façonner son devenir grâce à la démocratie parlementaire.

Les citoyens canadiens ont des droits et des libertés garantis qui sont rarement égalés ou dépassés ailleurs. Depuis le début, notre régime parlementaire veille à ce que chaque citoyen soit représenté dans les débats et les votes sur les projets de loi, qui consacrent les valeurs canadiennes auxquelles nous tenons profondément.

Comme l'a dit sir John A. Macdonald au cours des débats qui ont mené à la Confédération de 1867, le Sénat devait être un organe de régulation pouvant « modérer et considérer avec calme la législation de l'assemblée et empêcher la maturité de toute loi intempestive ou pernicieuse passée par cette dernière… ».

Notre responsabilité première comme sénateurs, que ce soit à titre d'individus ou en tant qu'institution, est de déterminer le meilleur moyen de servir les Canadiens à l'heure actuelle et dans les années à venir. C'est donc avec cette idée à l'esprit que j'ai accepté la charge de président du Sénat en février 2006 dans le plus grand respect pour l'histoire et les traditions du Sénat. C'est pour moi un privilège et un honneur de jouer un rôle dans l'évolution de cette institution à une époque aussi intéressante de son histoire.

Nous espérons que le présent rapport annuel donnera aux lecteurs une meilleure idée du fonctionnement du Sénat et que l'information qui s'y trouve montrera à quel point les sénateurs sont résolus à concrétiser leur vision du Canada.

Le Président du Sénat,
Noël A. Kinsella

Dessus de page

George Furey
 
L'Administration du Sénat fait bon usage des fonds qui lui sont confiés en veillant à offrir aux sénateurs les services nécessaires à l'exercice de leur mandat.

Le Comité sénatorial permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration, que j'ai l'honneur de présider, dirige et supervise les rouages financiers et administratifs internes du Sénat. Il exerce cette fonction au nom de tous les sénateurs et, partant, de tous les Canadiens.

Les membres du comité possèdent une conscience aiguë de leurs responsabilités, car il est crucial, pour les deux chambres du Parlement, de donner l'exemple d'une bonne gouvernance à toutes les entreprises. C'est d'autant plus vrai que nos « actionnaires » sont les 32,5 millions de personnes qui vivent au Canada, de la femme âgée qui dépend du régime de pension des anciens combattants jusqu'au bébé prématuré qui est entouré de soins par notre régime public de santé. L'utilisation judicieuse des impôts est une responsabilité d'ordre moral et éthique.

À cet effet, j'ai le plaisir d'annoncer que le Sénat a continué d'optimiser l'utilisation de l'argent des contribuables au cours de l'année financière 2005-2006. L'Administration du Sénat fait bon usage des fonds qui lui sont confiés en veillant à offrir aux sénateurs les services nécessaires à l'exercice de leur mandat. J'ai aussi le plaisir de signaler que le premier conseiller sénatorial en éthique, Jean T. Fournier, est entré en fonction le 1er avril 2005. Ce haut fonctionnaire indépendant renforcera la transparence des activités des sénateurs, ce qui rendra l'institution tout entière encore plus responsable face aux gens qu'elle sert.

J'espère que le présent rapport annuel s'avérera utile à ses lecteurs en tant qu'outil de responsabilisation envers le public. Il témoigne certainement du travail acharné qu'accomplissent les sénateurs et l'Administration du Sénat au nom des Canadiens.

Le président du Comité sénatorial permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration,
George J. Furey, c.r.

Dessus de page

Paul C. Bélisle
 
Nous sommes fiers de nos réalisations, passées et actuelles. Nous sommes fiers de la manière dont nous continuons de nous améliorer dans le cadre de notre tradition d'appui aux sénateurs qui oeuvrent à faire du Canada une société meilleure.

Au fil des 139 dernières années - 39 législatures consécutives - l'Administration du Sénat s'est employée sans relâche à procurer aux sénateurs les outils nécessaires pour bien servir et représenter les Canadiens. Ces outils ont considérablement évolué depuis l'entrée en fonction des premiers sénateurs en 1867. Ces derniers n'auraient sans doute jamais pu imaginer toutes les possibilités que la diffusion web, les réseaux informatiques et le transport aérien commercial ont ouvertes à leurs homologues d'aujourd'hui. Mais je suis persuadé qu'à toutes les époques, les employés de l'Administration ont été animés du même zèle et de la même fierté collective, en fait du sentiment d'accomplir conjointement une tâche importante pour toute la population canadienne, sentiment caractéristique de l'organisation actuelle.

L'Administration, que je dirige, comptait environ 450 hauts fonctionnaires, gestionnaires et employés en 2005-2006. Nos gens assistent les sénateurs en leur offrant toutes sortes de services tant à la chambre du Sénat qu'à l'extérieur : télécommunications et technologies de l'information, sécurité, ressources humaines, gestion du matériel, avis en matière de communications et de procédure, pour ne nommer que ceux-là. Il existe autant de rôles au sein de l'Administration qu'il y a, pour les sénateurs, de moyens d'accomplir leur travail. Ces rôles sont assumés par des experts dont le travail contribue à augmenter l'efficacité et le bon fonctionnement de notre organisation.

À l'image de toute bonne entreprise, l'Administration continue d'améliorer ses méthodes de travail, de découvrir des synergies et d'envisager des moyens innovateurs d'économiser les fonds publics. Comme vous le verrez au chapitre cinq, nous avons enregistré des gains importants au cours de l'année financière 2005-2006.

Nous sommes fiers de nos réalisations, passées et actuelles. Nous sommes fiers de la manière dont nous continuons de nous améliorer dans le cadre de notre tradition d'appui aux sénateurs qui oeuvrent à faire du Canada une société meilleure. Nous sommes fiers de contribuer au travail qu'accomplit le Sénat au nom des Canadiens.

Le greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements,
Paul C. Bélisle

Dessus de page


Le présent rapport annuel décrit en détail les activités des sénateurs et de l'Administration du Sénat pour l'année financière 2005-2006. Les quatre premiers chapitres mettent en lumière les rôles des sénateurs comme membres d'une assemblée législative et comme membres de la société. Le dernier chapitre renseigne sur les activités administratives, les états financiers et l'effectif de la Chambre haute.

Nous espérons que vous trouverez ce document utile. Par-dessus tout, nous espérons qu'il alimentera un débat sincère de grande envergure sur la valeur de l'institution. Le débat, après tout, est la raison d'être du Sénat.


Dessus de page


Essayons de voir les choses

comme les Pères de la Confédération : le dilemme d'une seule chambre du Parlement, régie par une majorité, dirigée par le Cabinet, préférant au débat l'avancement de son programme. Les provinces du centre du pays, plus populeuses, écrasant l'opinion des autres régions du fait de la représentation selon la population. L'opinion des minorités rapidement entendue, puis écartée. La majorité exerçant son pouvoir sans contrôle, avec les risques d'abus inhérents.

Pères de la Confédérations
Photo : « Les pères de la Confédération » par Rex Woods, 1969 (huile). Reproduite avec la permission de Rogers Communications Inc.

La solution?

Le Sénat. Une deuxième chambre chargée d'approfondir le débat. Une institution représentant les régions, et non les majorités. Une institution politique, certes, mais plus indépendante : moins facilement influencée par la direction d'un parti, la perspective à court terme d'une réélection, ou l'espoir d'un avancement. Un contrepoids pour faire échec à toute tentative de « dictature de la majorité ».

C'est une vision... que les sénateurs, par leur ardeur au travail, s'efforcent de soutenir.


Cette année :

Les sénateurs on défedu les minorités

Les sénateurs ont défendu

les minorités et les plus démunis. De la croisade menée par le sénateur Munson pour que les traitements des enfants autistes soient couverts par l'assurance maladie jusqu'à la défense, par le sénateur Watt, du droit des Inuits de conserver leurs pratiques de chasse traditionnelles, les sénateurs ont protégé les droits des minorités et des plus démunis, et veillé à ce que nous nous acquittions de notre responsabilité démocratique à l'égard des groupes sous-représentés.

Ils ont représenté

leurs régions. Les sénateurs se font souvent les porte-parole de leur région. Ainsi, devant l'inquiétude des collectivités côtières de la Colombie-Britannique, la sénatrice Carney a sonné l'alarme au sujet de la mise hors service des cornes de brume sur la côte du Pacifique. Pour sa part, le sénateur Sibbeston a exposé les préoccupations des Territoires du Nord-Ouest quant aux répercussions de l'agrandissement de la réserve du parc national Nahanni sur le développement économique régional. Dans l'enceinte même du Sénat ou hors des murs de l'institution, les sénateurs ont défendu les intérêts des habitants de leur région.

Les sénateurs on défedu les minorités

Les sénateurs on défedu les minorités

Ils nous ont amenés

à revoir nos positions. Les rapports des comités sénatoriaux ont un réel impact. Les rapports sur la sécurité de nos frontières, le manque de structures pour soigner les personnes souffrant de maladies mentales et l'état de l'approvisionnement en eau au Canada ont suscité de l'intérêt partout au pays. Même si le Parlement a interrompu ses activités pendant quatre mois à cause des élections de 2006, les comités sénatoriaux ont entrepris cette année 38 études d'ordre social ou économique. Pendant 830 heures, ils ont entendu les témoignages de Canadiens et rencontré plus de 1 300 témoins, puis ils ont fait rapport de l'information recueillie.

Ils ont amélioré

nos lois. Cette année, les comités ont procédé à l'étude, article par article, de 51 projets de loi. Les sénateurs ont consacré près de 80 heures à l'examen de projets de loi au Sénat et 175 heures à leur examen en comité. Le Sénat ne fait pas que réfléchir; il agit, aussi!

Les sénateurs on défedu les minorités

Voici donc le travail que les sénateurs du Canada ont accompli en 2005-2006

Dessus de page