Next Section
Annual Report 07/08




Foreword

1. Legislate for Canadians

2. Investigate the issues

3. Advocate for change

4. Support senators' work

5. Financial Statements

6. Learn more about the Senate

7. Appendixes


 

WORKING FOR CANADIANS
Every day, senators are taking action in behalf
of Canadians.

Listening to Canadians
Senators stayed in touch with their people's concerns.

•   They spent nearly 1,000 hours listening to Canadians
     in committee meetings.

•   They heard from over 1,600 witnesses.

Improving our quality of life
Senate committees proposed ground-breaking ideas to improve Canadians' quality of life. 

•   They tabled 58 special studies on issues that affect
     people's lives.

•   They made over 250 recommendations to government
     on improving policy.

 

 
Listening to Canadians

Improving our quality of life


A Senate committee that's touring the country to examine rural poverty in Canada may be an expense, but if the initiative gives our parliamentarians a better grasp of what causes poverty in the rural regions, then it's worth it. After all, they can't solve a problem if they don't know the causes of it.
The Guardian (Charlottetown) editorial, February 23, 2007

… Senate committees have done good work investigating public policy options, particularly on health care, defence, banking and urban development.
National Post editorial, September 9, 2006

 
Taking action in the field
Senators made 44 visits to communities and cities in
Canada and abroad to find out the facts.

From rural Aboriginal communities to war-torn Kandahar, senators were on the ground where issues arise,
searching for ways to improve current conditions.


Reinvigorating our democracy

The Senate tackled a review of Senate reform proposals.

Participating in this review, Stephen Harper became the
first sitting prime minister to give testimony before a
Senate committee.

Taking Action in the field

Reinvigorating our democracy
 



In fiscal year 2006-07, they continued to fight for our vision of a better world in a myriad of ways.

Challenging the status quo
Senators strengthened proposed laws.

•   They introduced 24 private senator's bills to improve
     conditions for Canadians.

•   They amended or made observations on nearly half
     the bills they passed.

Getting results
Senate policy work had a positive impact on government: 

•   "The federal government agreed Thursday to meet a Senate         committee's challenge on official bilingualism at the 2010            Olympics." Vancouver Sun, Peter O'Neil, March 2, 2007

•   "More than half of the [National Defence and Security]                     Committee's recommendations have been implemented
     by successive governments and this has not been by
     chance or happenstance." 

      C.C.N. Mathews, Customs Excise Union (CEUDA),October 18, 2006


•   "The Conservative government intends to table amendments      to the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist
     Financing Act today. Those amendments follow a Senate
     committee report released on Tuesday that calls on the
     government to better regulate additional industries,
     including payday-loan operations and jewelry and precious         
stone dealers." Ottawa Sun, Alan Findlay, October 5, 2006




Challenging the status quo
Getting results
 

Several good laws emanate from the Senate, like Senator Jean-Robert Gauthier's bill that gives the Official Languages Act powers of enforcement, a major step forward for the country's francophones. Several senators have contributed to the public debate, making good use of their status to become champions for a cause ….

Le Droit editorial, Pierre Jury, December 16, 2006

 

Pushing national debate
In the Senate chamber, senators drew major national issues into light.

•   They started over 20 inquiries and moved or gave notice
     of 17 substantive motions encouraging Parliament to act.

•   They submitted over 30 written questions.

•   They made over 500 statements.


Pushing national debate

 



  Noël A. Kinsella

Through our democratic institutions, we are able to express our values as a country and to shape its future.

 

 

We are fortunate to enjoy, in Canada, peace and freedom unparalleled in the world. Through our democratic institutions, we are able to express our values as a country and to shape its future. The Senate, as the upper house of the Parliament of Canada, is one institution through which Canadians interact with their representatives and are empowered as citizens.

We are privileged to serve in a unique location, both within our system of governance and in terms of the architectural beauty that surrounds us. The Senate is the only place where the three elements of Parliament are brought together - the Crown, the Senate and the House of Commons - as it is here that proposed laws of the land, having gained the support of both the Senate and the Commons, are given Royal Assent.

During the Confederation debates, the man who would become our first prime minister, Sir John A. Macdonald, famously referred to the Senate as the "House which has sober second-thought." Through our efforts in the chamber and in committees, senators have continued to build upon this principle.

I hope this report on activities provides you, the reader, with a better sense of how the Senate serves Canadians. May the information contained herein demonstrate the deep commitment senators have to enhancing and improving Canada for the benefit of all its citizens.

Noël A. Kinsella
The Senate Speaker

 

  George J. Furey

Careful budgeting ensures that senators can carry out in-depth study, foster public debate and serve our constituents.
 

The Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration oversees all financial and administrative matters related to the Senate's operations.  It delivers the Senate's annual budget; approves the use of Senate resources by senators and their committees; and oversees the Senate Administration, a body of some 450 employees who provide the logistical and procedural expertise the Senate needs to operate.

The committee 15 members share responsibility to our fellow senators to ensure conditions that allow them to work effectively and efficiently. This entails supporting the service of our non-partisan Senate Administration staff with solid administrative policy.  Careful budgeting ensures that senators can carry out in-depth study, foster public debate and serve our constituents.

As well, the committee shares a more general responsibility to be scrupulous and careful with the use of public funds.  This dictates analyzing each expenditure and every policy to ensure that Senate operations are as efficient as possible.  To be accountable and ensure the Senate operates in a fiscally responsible manner is to be diligent and ever-mindful of the right of Canadians to a positive return on their investment in the Senate.

That return is represented in the pages of this report - in such results as provocative reports on mental health and security, fulsome debate over important legislation and senators' advocacy on a vast range of social issues.  Our committee is proud of the Senate's achievements and we hope you find, as you peruse this report, that we are serving Canadians well and responsibly.

George J. Furey, Q.C.
Chair, Standing Committee
on Internal Economy,
Budgets and Administration


 
  Paul C. Bélisle

In assisting senators with their legislative duties, the Administration's employees demonstrated dedication, passion and commitment to excellence.
 

In many ways, this report on activities demonstrates the pride that we in the Senate Administration take in the work we do. But more than that, it outlines how the Senate serves Canadians, and helps raise awareness and understanding of its essential role in our democratic system of government.

I am proud to say that the Senate's full and sensitive legislative slate of the past year brought out the best in the Administration. In assisting senators with their legislative duties, the Administration's employees demonstrated dedication, passion and commitment to excellence. It has been gratifying to observe their professionalism and ethical conduct during a busy and challenging session of Parliament. By serving with competence and impartiality and by fostering a climate of respect and probity, they not only managed to do what senators and Canadians expect of them - they succeeded in reinforcing their trust.

The face of the Senate Administration is changing. As you will read in this report's section on the Administration, our vision of a truly representative and inclusive workplace reflecting the diverse cultural mosaic and linguistic duality of Canadian society is becoming a reality. I can say with satisfaction that the adoption of innovative, flexible and effective strategies for integrating diversity into human resources programs has resulted in a richer and more vibrant organization.

I am grateful to all those who contribute to this development, betterment and continued excellence.

Paul C. Bélisle
Clerk of the Senate
and Clerk of the Parliaments


 

 

Fiscal year 2006-07
The start of fiscal year 2006-07 was also the start of Canada's 39th Parliament; the January 21, 2006 election had given rise to a minority Conservative government. Given party membership in the Senate, this meant that the governing party had fewer than 25 per cent of the seats in the upper chamber in this fiscal year.

Following a four-month period of adjournment, Governor General Michaëlle Jean officially opened Parliament with the Speech from the Throne in the Senate chamber on April 3, 2006. The Senate held its first sitting of the 39th Parliament on April 4. On March 31, 2007, the end of the fiscal year, the 39th Parliament was still in its first session.

 

Top of Page

Prochaine
Rapport d'activité 07/08

   

Avant-propos

  1. Légiférer pour les Canadiens

  2. Enquêter sur différentes
    questions

  3. Préconiser des changements

  4. Soutenir les sénateurs dans leur tâche

  5. États financiers

  6. Pour plus d'information sur le Sénat

  7. Annexes


 

AU SERVICE DES CANADIENS
Chaque jour, les sénateurs prennent des mesures au nom des Canadiens

Écouter les Canadiens
Les sénateurs restent à l'affût des préoccupations de la population.

•   Ils ont consacré près de 1 000 heures à écouter les Canadiens dans les réunions de comité.

•   Ils ont entendu plus de 1 600 témoins.

Améliorer notre qualité de vie
Les comités du Sénat ont proposé des idées novatrices pour améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens.

•   Ils ont déposé 58 études spéciales sur des questions touchant nos vies.

•   Ils ont adressé plus de 250 recommandations au gouvernement pour améliorer les politiques.

 

 
Écouter les Canadiens

Améliorer notre qualité de vie


Un comité sénatorial qui parcourt le pays pour examiner la pauvreté rurale au Canada représente sans doute une dépense, mais si l'initiative donne à nos parlementaires une meilleure idée des causes de la pauvreté dans les régions rurales, cela en vaut la peine. Après tout, ils ne peuvent pas résoudre un problème s'ils n'en connaissent pas les causes.
The Guardian (Charlottetown), éditorial, 23 février 2007

... les comités sénatoriaux ont fait un bon travail pour ce qui est d'étudier les choix de politique gouvernementale, en particulier en ce qui concerne les soins de santé, la défense, les services bancaires et le développement urbain.
National Post éditorial, 9 septembre 2006

 
Agir sur le terrain
Les sénateurs se sont rendus dans 44 villes et collectivités au Canada et à l'étranger afin de prendre connaissance des faits.

Des communautés autochtones en zone rurale à la ville de Kandahar déchirée par la guerre, les sénateurs étaient sur le terrain, là où surgissent les problèmes, pour chercher des moyens d'améliorer la situation actuelle.

Revigorer notre démocratie

Cette année, le Sénat a entrepris d'examiner les projets de réforme du Sénat.

Stephen Harper, qui a participé à cet examen, est devenu le premier Premier ministre en exercice à témoigner devant un comité sénatorial.

Agir sur le terrain

Revigorer notre démocratie
 



Pendant l'exercice 2006-2007, les sénateurs ont continué à défendre notre vision d'un monde meilleur d'une multitude de façons.

Remettre en question le statu quo
Les sénateurs ont renforcé des lois proposées.

• Ils ont présenté 24 projets de loi d'initiative parlementaire afin de bonifier la condition des Canadiens.

• Ils ont amendé ou formulé des observations sur près de la moitié des projets de loi qu'ils ont adoptés.

Obtenir des résultats
Le travail d'élaboration de politiques du Sénat a eu une incidence positive sur le gouvernement
.
• « Le gouvernement fédéral a accepté jeudi de relever le défi lancé par un comité sénatorial au sujet du bilinguisme officiel aux Jeux olympiques de 2010. »
Vancouver Sun, Peter O'Neil, 2 mars 2007

• « Plus de la moitié des recommandations du Comité [de la sécurité nationale et de la défense] ont été mises en application par les gouvernements successifs, et cela ne tient pas de la chance ni du hasard. »

      C.C.N. Mathews, Union Douanes Accise (CEUDA), 18 octobre 2006


• « Le gouvernement conservateur entend déposer aujourd'hui des modifications à la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes. Ces modifi- cations font suite au rapport d'un comité sénatorial publié mardi lui demandant de mieux réglementer d'autres secteurs d'activité, y compris les sociétés de prêt sur salaire et les courtiers en joaillerie et en pierres précieuses. »

Ottawa Sun, Alan Findlay, 5 octobre 2006




Remettre en question le statu quo
Obtenir des résultats
 

Plusieurs bonnes lois émanent du Sénat, comme le projet de loi du sénateur Jean-Robert Gauthier qui confère à la Loi sur les langues officielles des pouvoirs d'exécution, un important pas en avant pour les francophones du pays. Plusieurs sénateurs ont contribué au débat public et ont fait bon usage de leur statut pour se faire les défenseurs d'une cause…

Le Droit éditorial, Pierre Jury, 16 décembre 2006

 

Faire avancer le débat national
Dans la chambre du Sénat, les sénateurs ont attiré l'attention sur de grands enjeux nationaux.

• Ils ont ouvert plus de 20 enquêtes et présenté ou annoncé 17 motions de fond encourageant le Parlement à agir.

• Ils ont soumis plus de 30 questions écrites.

• Ils ont fait plus de 500 déclarations.


Faire avancer le débat national

 



  Noël A. Kinsella

Nous pouvons, grâce à nos institutions démocratiques, exprimer nos valeurs nationales et façonner l'avenir de notre pays.

 

 

Nous avons la chance, au Canada, de connaître une paix et une liberté sans pareilles dans le monde. Nous pouvons, grâce à nos institutions démocratiques, exprimer nos valeurs nationales et façonner l'avenir de notre pays. Le Sénat, Chambre haute du Parlement du Canada, est une des institutions par l'intermédiaire desquelles les Canadiens dialoguent avec leurs représentants et ont les moyens d'agir en tant que citoyens.

Nous avons le privilège de servir dans un lieu unique, tant dans notre système de gouvernance que par l'architecture superbe qui nous entoure. Le Sénat est le seul endroit où les trois éléments du Parlement sont réunis, à savoir la Couronne, le Sénat et la Chambre des communes, car c'est là que les projets de loi du pays, une fois approuvés par le Sénat et la Chambre des communes, reçoivent la sanction royale.

Pendant les débats sur la Confédération, l'homme qui allait devenir notre premier Premier ministre, Sir John A. Macdonald, a qualifié le Sénat de « Chambre de second examen objectif », expression qui est d'ailleurs restée. Par leurs efforts en chambre et dans les comités, les sénateurs ont continué à faire fond sur ce principe.

J'espère que le présent rapport d'activité donnera au lecteur une meilleure idée de la façon dont le Sénat sert les Canadiens. Puisse l'information qu'il renferme montrer la volonté profonde des sénateurs de renforcer et d'améliorer le Canada pour le bien de tous ses citoyens.

Noël A. Kinsella
Président du Sénat

 

  George J. Furey

Déterminer avec soin le budget des sénateurs leur permet de mener des études approfondies, de favoriser les débats publics et de bien servir leurs concitoyens.
 

Le Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration s'occupe de toutes les questions financières et administratives liées au fonctionnement du Sénat. Il établit le budget annuel du Sénat, approuve l'utilisation que font les sénateurs et leurs comités des ressources du Sénat et supervise l'Administration du Sénat, un groupe d'environ 450 employés sous l'autorité du greffier du Sénat et greffier des Parlements chargés de fournir au Sénat les services de logistique et de procédure dont il a besoin pour fonctionner.

Les 15 membres du Comité partagent la responsabilité d'assurer à leurs collègues sénateurs les conditions qui leur permettent de s'acquitter de leur tâche de façon efficace et efficiente. Il leur faut pour cela encadrer d'une politique administrative solide le service efficace offert par le personnel non partisan de l'Administration du Sénat et déterminer avec soin le budget des sénateurs, afin que ceux-ci puissent mener des études approfondies, favoriser les débats publics et bien servir leurs concitoyens.

Le Comité assume également une responsabilité plus générale : celle d'user avec scrupule et prudence des fonds publics. Cette responsabilité les oblige à analyser chaque dépense et chaque politique de manière à maximiser l'efficience du Sénat. C'est faire preuve de diligence et de souci du droit des Canadiens à obtenir un bon rendement sur leur investissement dans le Sénat que de rendre des comptes et de s'assurer que le Sénat se comporte de façon responsable sur le plan financier.

Les pages qui suivent démontrent le genre de rendement offert par le Sénat : des rapports qui interpellent le lecteur sur certains sujets, comme la santé mentale et la sécurité, des débats complets sur des mesures législatives importantes et des prises de position bien senties sur une vaste gamme de questions sociales. Notre comité est fier des réalisations du Sénat et nous espérons que le présent rapport vous convaincra des services compétents et responsables offerts aux Canadiens par cette institution.

George J. Furey, Q.C.
Président, Comité sénatorial
permanent de la régie interne,
des budgets et de l'administration


 
  Paul C. Bélisle

En aidant les sénateurs dans leurs travaux législatifs, les employés de l'Administration ont toujours fait preuve de dévouement, de passion et d'attachement à l'excellence.
 

À bien des égards, le présent rapport d'activité montre combien nous sommes fiers de notre travail à l'Administration du Sénat. Mais plus encore, il souligne comment le Sénat sert les Canadiens et contribue à mieux faire connaître et comprendre son rôle essentiel dans notre régime démocratique.

Je suis fier de dire que le programme législatif bien rempli et complexe du Sénat dans l'année qui vient de s'écouler a fait ressortir le meilleur de l'Administration. En aidant les sénateurs dans leurs travaux législatifs, les employés de l'Administration ont toujours fait preuve de dévouement, de passion et d'attachement à l'excellence. Il est gratifiant d'observer leur professionnalisme et leur conduite éthique durant une session parlementaire chargée et difficile. En servant avec compétence et impartialité et en favorisant un climat de respect et d'intégrité, ils ont réussi non seulement à faire ce que les sénateurs et les Canadiens attendent d'eux, mais aussi à renforcer leur confiance.

Le visage de l'Administration du Sénat change. Comme vous le lirez dans la section du présent rapport sur l'Administration, notre vision d'un milieu de travail vraiment représentatif et propice à l'intégration, reflet de la mosaïque culturelle et de la dualité linguistique de la société canadienne, devient réalité. Je peux dire avec satisfaction que l'adoption de stratégies novatrices, souples et efficaces visant à intégrer la diversité dans les programmes de ressources humaines permet d'avoir une organisation plus riche et plus dynamique.

Je remercie tous ceux et celles qui contribuent à cette évolution, à cette amélioration et à cette poursuite de l'excellence.

Paul C. Bélisle
Greffier du Sénat
et greffier des Parlements


 

 

Exercice 2006-2007
Les élections du 21 janvier 2006 ont porté au pouvoir un gouvernement conservateur minoritaire, et le début de l'exercice 2006-2007 coïncidait avec le début de la 39e législature du Canada. Étant donné la composition du Sénat, cela signifiait que le parti au pouvoir comptait moins de 25 p. 100 des sièges à la Chambre haute au cours de cet exercice.

Après un ajournement de quatre mois, la gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean a officiellement ouvert la législature avec le discours du Trône prononcé au Sénat le 3 avril 2006. Le Sénat a siégé pour la première fois de la 39e législature le 4 avril.

À la fin de l'exercice, le 31 mars 2007, la 39e législature était encore dans sa première session.

 

Dessus de page