banner

Foreword
   
01 THE SENATE AND
CURRENT AFFAIRS

A READER'S GUIDE


  In the Chamber
  In Committees
  Outside the Senate
   
09 BRINGING PERSPECTIVE
FIVE CASE STUDIES


  1 Aboriginal Affairs
  2 The Environment
  3 Aging In Canada
  4 Federal Reform
  5 Canada and the World
   
31 THE SPEAKER OF THE SENATE

  The Speaker as
Diplomat
  The Speaker as Presiding Officer
   
37 CANADA'S SENATORS
SENATE MEMBERSHIP
ON MARCH 31, 2008
   
43 STRUCTURE
THE SENATE'S ADMINISTRATION AND FINANCES


  The Senate Administration
  Advancing the Clerk's Strategic Priorities
  Financial Report
   
53 LEARN MORE ABOUT
THE SENATE
   
54 APPENDIXES

  A Senate Membership 2007-08
  B Holders of Key
Roles in the Senate
2007-08
  C Bills Considered by the Senate
2007-08
  D Senate Committee Special
Study Reports
2007-08
  E Committee Membership
2007-08

 

 
 
image
 

   BRINGING PERSPECTIVE

 
 

More and more, we live our lives in a complex crush of current affairs. Continuous streams of news items, a connectedness that spans the globe, information from a new wealth of sources - all feed a near-constant public policy debate that touches almost everyone, ranging in focus from the regulation of toothpaste to Canada's role in achieving world peace.

As a house of Parliament, the Senate stands at the nexus of the policy debate in Canada. Senators find themselves in a position to nourish and fortify this dialogue with the opinions of their communities, with the expertise of years in Parliament, and with solid research. Through Senate committees, avenues of Chamber debate and community leadership, they work to understand and expand important issues that could otherwise get lost in the bustle of our daily lives.

 



 
 



image
   
 


On the environment, trade, financial institutions, aboriginal affairs, poverty and other issues, the first recognition that problems are brewing is often from the Senate, as are the first attempts at proposing solutions.

National Post, November 8, 2007

 

 
  image
   
 
 


The Honourable Noël A. Kinsella
The Honourable
Noël A. Kinsella

Speaker of the Senate

 


Canada continues to be admired through most of the world as a strong democracy that protects the rights of every citizen and works to maintain the peace and freedom which we all enjoy. The Senate has proven itself as an indispensable component of our parliamentary system which upholds and defends these deeply-held Canadian values.

The magnificent architecture of the Parliament Buildings in which we serve is a daily reminder of the vision and forethought of those who came before us. As Sir John A. Macdonald intended at Confederation, Canada's upper house was and continues to be a place where regional, provincial and minority interests are advocated, where laws are proposed and examined, and where national and international issues are investigated.

Senators are women and men from all walks of life who actively participate in the ongoing process of shaping our country's future and in fostering international relations. Parliamentary diplomacy is just one aspect of senators' work, but its importance comes to the forefront when we see the major impact that events beyond our borders can have on all Canadians.

We hope this report on our activities provides you with a better sense of the Senate as a pillar in our democratic parliamentary system and of the commitment of senators to continue to improve the quality of life of every Canadian.


 
   
 
 


The Honourable George J. Furey

The Honourable
George J. Furey, Q.C..

Chair, Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration

 


October 16, 2007 - mid-way through the fiscal year - marked the start of the second session of the 39th Parliament. Two bills aiming for some measure of Senate reform, unsuccessful in the first session, were re-introduced in the second. Debate about Senate reform has been a constant theme of this Parliament.

This climate of institutional introspection has further heightened our awareness that the Senate is here to serve and protect the rights and interests of all Canadians. This remains unchanged since Confederation. We remain equally aware that we must exercise careful stewardship of the funds you entrust to us as taxpayers. As Chair of the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (COIEBA), which oversees the Senate's finances and administration, my objective is to balance the judicious use of funds with Canadians' need and right to be well served by their chamber of sober second thought.

This year, COIEBA's 15 members increased the accountability of Senate committees with the appointment of the Subcommittee on the Review of Committee Budgets. This subcommittee reviews, in detail, each Senate committee draft budget and post-activity report. We are also pleased to report that the Senate Administration continues to enhance its ability to ensure the best use of Senate resources, a permanent objective. I encourage you to examine the section of this report entitled "Structure" (pp. 43-51) for concrete examples of these achievements.

Debate about the future of Canada's second chamber may persist, perhaps for years to come. But regardless of the outcome, senators will continue to take their role as legislators as a profound privilege and responsibility, applying their vast experience to the work before them.


 
   
 
 


Paul C. Bélisle
Paul C. Bélisle
Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments

 


Like the senators we serve, the Senate Administration takes immense pride in the accomplishments of our institution. Canadians are the ultimate stakeholders of the Senate's legislative and policy work. Our culture is thus one of professionalism, integrity and - perhaps above all - a profound respect for the Canadian system of government.

In supporting the role of senators and of the legislative process, it is our constant objective to improve our methods and to increase the positive impact of our work. Fiscal year 2007-08 was a hallmark for making such improvements, because the Administration developed its first performance measurement and monitoring framework. We believe that this framework, as it is perfected, will provide us with information that will take the Administration of our institution to the leading edge of management practices, allowing us to find new efficiencies and to set ambitious goals that will take Canada's upper legislative house into the future.

We are already seeing the results of our efforts. With the Senate Administration now boasting 11 per cent representation of visible minorities, we rank as one of the most diverse workforces at the federal level. This is in keeping with the Senate itself, whose members include high representations of women and visible minorities. The Senate reflects Canada's multicultural identity, as it should. Other progress included the promotion among all staff of the Statement of Values and Ethics of the Senate Administration and the related implementation guide. Our values, which are already well engrained, are now clearly articulated in this statement.

I wish to thank both senators and staff whose dedication and hard work contribute to making this institution productive and vibrant.


 
   
Top

Rapport d'activité 07/08

Avant-propos
   
01 LE SÉNAT ET
L'ACTUALITÉ :

GUIDE DU LECTEUR


  En chambre
  Au sein des comités
  À l'extérieur du Sénat
   
09 UN AUTRE POINT DE VUE :
CINQ ÉTUDES DE CAS


  1 Les affaires autochtones
  2 L'environnement
  3 Le vieillissement au Canada
  4 La réforme fédérale
  5 Le Canada et le monde
   
31 LE PRÉSIDENT DU SÉNAT

  Le Président diplomate
  Le Président de séance
   
37 LES SÉNATEURS DU CANADA :
MEMBRES DU SÉNAT
AU 31 MARS 2008
   
43 STRUCTURE :
L'ADMINISTRATION ET
LES FINANCES DU SÉNAT


  Administration du Sénat
  Mise en œuvre des priorités stratégiques
du greffier
  Rapport financier
   
53 POUR PLUS D'INFORMATION
SUR LE SÉNAT
   
54 ANNEXES

  A Membres du Sénat en 2007-2008
  B Titulaires de postes clés au Sénat en
2007-2008
  C Projets de loi étudiés par le Sénat en 2007-2008
  D Rapports de fond produits par des
comités sénatoriaux en 2007-2008
  E Membres des comités pour l'exercice
2007-2008

 

 
 
image
 

   UN AUTRE POINT DE VUE

 
 

Nous vivons dans un monde de plus en plus complexe où les événements se bousculent. L'actualité en continu, l'interconnexion planétaire et l'information provenant d'une multitude de nouvelles sources nourrissent des débats publics quasi constants qui touchent presque tout le monde et portent sur des sujets aussi variés que la réglementation des dentifrices ou le rôle du Canada dans l'établissement de la paix mondiale.

En tant qu'institution du Parlement, le Sénat est au cœur du débat politique canadien. Les sénateurs sont bien placés pour alimenter et enrichir ce débat en s'appuyant sur l'opinion de la collectivité, leur longue expérience parlementaire et des recherches exhaustives. Par les travaux qu'ils effectuent en comité, leurs délibérations en chambre et leur leadership dans la société, ils tentent de comprendre et d'approfondir des enjeux importants qui risqueraient autrement de nous échapper dans le tourbillon de notre quotidien.

 



 
 



image
   
 


En ce qui concerne l'environnement, le commerce, les institutions financières, les affaires autochtones, la pauvreté et bien d'autres enjeux, le Sénat est souvent le premier à constater que des problèmes existent et à suggérer des solutions.

National Post, 8 novembre 2007

 

 
  image
   
 
 


The Honourable Noël A. Kinsella
L'honorable
Noël A. Kinsella

Président du Sénat

 


La plupart des pays du monde continuent d'admirer le Canada et d'y voir le reflet d'une démocratie solide, qui protège les droits de ses citoyens et travaille au maintien de la paix et de la liberté dont ils jouissent. Le Sénat a fait la preuve de son caractère indispensable au sein de notre régime parlementaire puisqu'il soutient et défend ces valeurs chères aux Canadiens.

La magnifique architecture des édifices du Parlement dans lesquels nous travaillons nous rappelle chaque jour la vision et la prévoyance de ceux qui nous ont précédés. Comme sir John A. Macdonald l'avait prévu à la Confédération, la Chambre haute du Canada était, et continue d'être, un endroit où l'on défend les intérêts des régions, des provinces et des minorités, où des lois sont proposées et examinées, et où des questions d'envergure nationale et internationale font l'objet d'études approfondies.

Les sénateurs sont des hommes et des femmes de tous les horizons qui travaillent activement à façonner l'avenir de notre pays et à favoriser les relations internationales. La diplomatie parlementaire n'est qu'un des aspects du travail des sénateurs, mais elle revêt une importance capitale vu les conséquences majeures que des événements au-delà de nos frontières peuvent avoir sur les Canadiens.

Nous espérons que ce rapport de nos activités vous permettra de mieux comprendre l'importance du Sénat dans notre système parlementaire démocratique et l'engagement des sénateurs à améliorer sans cesse la qualité de vie de chaque Canadien et Canadienne.

 
   
 
 


The Honourable George J. Furey

L'honorable
George J. Furey, c.r..

Président, Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration

 


La deuxième session de la 39e législature s'est ouverte le 16 octobre 2007, à mi-chemin de l'exercice financier. Deux projets de loi visant une réforme du Sénat, présentés sans succès pendant la première session, ont été déposés à nouveau au cours de la deuxième session. La réforme du Sénat a d'ailleurs été un thème récurrent de la 39e législature.

Cette atmosphère d'introspection nous fait encore mieux réaliser que le Sénat sert à sauvegarder et à protéger les droits et les intérêts de toute la population canadienne. Son rôle n'a pas changé depuis la Confédération. Le Sénat sait aussi qu'il doit gérer prudemment les fonds que lui confient les contribuables. À titre de président du Comité permanent de la régie interne, des budgets et de l'administration chargé de superviser les finances et l'administration du Sénat, je dois veiller à maintenir l'équilibre entre l'utilisation judicieuse des fonds et le droit des Canadiens et Canadiennes d'être bien servis par leur chambre de second examen objectif.

Cette année, les 15 membres du Comité ont mis l'accent sur la responsabilisation des comités sénatoriaux en créant un sous-comité des budgets de comités. Ce sous-comité effectue un examen détaillé des avant-projets de budget et des rapports d'activités des comités sénatoriaux. Par ailleurs, l'Administration du Sénat continue de chercher des moyens d'assurer une utilisation optimale des ressources du Sénat, et elle poursuivra ses efforts en ce sens. On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur les réalisations de l'Administration dans la section de ce rapport intitulée
« Structure » (pages 42 à 51).

Les discussions sur l'avenir du Sénat se poursuivront peut-être pendant de nom-breuses années. Mais peu importe quelle en sera l'issue, les sénateurs continueront de considérer leur rôle de législateur comme un rare privilège et une immense responsabilité et de mettre à profit leur vaste expérience dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions.


 
   
 
 


Paul C. Bélisle
Paul C. Bélisle
Greffier du Sénat et
greffier des Parlements

 


Tout comme les sénateurs qu'elle sert, l'Administration du Sénat est très fière des réalisations de la Chambre haute. Les Canadiens et Canadiennes demeurent les principaux bénéficiaires du travail du Sénat en matière de lois et de politiques. C'est pourquoi le personnel de l'Administration du Sénat a instauré une culture de professionnalisme, d'intégrité et - plus que tout, peut-être - de profond respect pour le régime politique canadien.

Tout en soutenant les sénateurs et le processus législatif, nous visons à améliorer sans cesse nos méthodes et à accroître les effets positifs de notre travail. L'exercice 2007-2008 marque d'ailleurs une étape importante à ce chapitre, l'Administration ayant élaboré un premier cadre de mesure et de suivi du rendement. Ce cadre, qui sera amélioré au fil du temps, devrait nous permettre d'appliquer les pratiques de gestion les plus modernes et, par conséquent, d'améliorer notre efficience et de viser des objectifs ambitieux qui guideront le Sénat sur la voie de l'avenir.

Nous commençons déjà à récolter les fruits de nos efforts. Ainsi, 11 p. 100 des employés de l'Administration du Sénat font partie des minorités visibles, ce qui en fait un des groupes les plus diversifiés au niveau fédéral. Le Sénat lui-même compte un nombre élevé de femmes et de membres de minorités visibles; il reflète, comme il se doit, l'identité multiculturelle du Canada. Parmi les autres progrès réalisés, mentionnons la promotion auprès du personnel de l'Énoncé de valeurs et d'éthique de l'Administration du Sénat ainsi que du guide de mise en œuvre connexe. Nos valeurs, déjà bien établies, sont clairement exprimées dans cet énoncé.

En terminant, j'aimerais remercier les sénateurs et les employés, dont le dévouement et la ténacité contribuent à faire du Sénat une institution productive et dynamique.


 
   
Haut de la page