Forewords

Forewords

Canada has a well-deserved reputation around the world as a land of prosperity and opportunity. The resilience of our economy during the global recession and subsequent strong performance has positioned Canada as a global leader. Good governance has been the foundation of Canada's success, both economically and as a modern parliamentary democracy.

The Honourable Noël A. Kinsella

The Senate plays a number of important roles in maintaining good governance. Often seen primarily as a parliamentary mechanism for 'sober second thought', a phrase coined by our first prime minister, Sir John A. Macdonald, the Senate augments the electoral representation of the House of Commons. Among those who have found support in the upper chamber are regional and cultural communities and interests, ethnic and linguistic minorities, our Aboriginal people, women, seniors and youth.

Serving also as a standard-bearer of our national heritage, traditions and values, the Senate is richly representative of Canada's people. A wide variety of experience and expertise comes together to interact and to provide in-depth consideration of our nation's key policies and aspirations. It is an important component of our modern democracy and is both a reflection and an agent of change, identifying and advocating improvements in government for the benefit of all Canadians.

In addition, the Senate plays an important role in receiving foreign dignitaries and officials by promoting international dialogue and by encouraging positive relationships with other nations. During the last 12 months, I was pleased to host 52 visits by dignitaries from 32 countries. Senators also represent Canada at diplomatic events and activities and participate in many international fora, including those dealing with the subject of governance.

Good governance requires accountability, sharing information and providing access to our institutions and democratic processes. This report is an overview of what the Senate has accomplished during the past year and provides some perspective on what the Senate does to contribute to our country's good governance and to the well-being of our citizens.

The Honourable Noël A. Kinsella
Speaker of the Senate

Speaker Kinsella Signature

Avant-propos

Avant-propos

Le Canada jouit de la réputation bien méritée d'être un pays prospère où tout est possible. La résilience de l'économie après la récession mondiale et le rendement solide par la suite ont fait du Canada un leader mondial. Le succès du Canada, tant sur le plan économique qu'en tant que démocratie parlementaire moderne, s'explique par une bonne gouvernance.

L'honorable Noël A. Kinsella

Le Sénat joue un rôle important dans le maintien d'une bonne gouvernance. Souvent perçu comme un mécanisme parlementaire de second examen objectif, ou « sober second thought », comme le disait si bien le tout premier premier ministre, sir John A. Macdonald, le Sénat renforce la représentation électorale de la Chambre des communes. Les collectivités et les intérêts culturels et régionaux, les minorités ethniques et linguistiques, les peuples autochtones, les femmes, les aînés et les jeunes peuvent compter sur l'appui de la Chambre haute.

Porte-étendard de notre patrimoine national, de nos valeurs, et de nos traditions, le Sénat est très représentatif de la population du Canada. Des gens de tous les milieux mettent leur expérience et leur expertise en commun pour discuter et examiner les principales politiques et aspirations du pays. Le Sénat est un élément important de la démocratie moderne et est à la fois un agent de réflexion et de changement, qui identifie et défend les améliorations qui profitent à tous les Canadiens.

De plus, le Sénat joue un rôle important dans l'accueil de dignitaires étrangers et de représentants, dans la promotion d'un dialogue international et dans le maintien de relations positives avec d'autres pays. Au cours des 12 derniers mois, j'ai eu l'honneur d'accueillir 52 délégations de dignitaires provenant de 32 pays différents. Les sénateurs représentent aussi le Canada lors d'événements et d'activités diplomatiques et participent à de nombreux forums internationaux, y compris ceux portant sur la gouvernance.

La reddition de comptes, le partage de l'information et l'accès aux institutions et au processus démocratique sont les éléments essentiels à une bonne gouvernance. Le présent rapport fait le point sur ce que le Sénat a accompli au cours de l'année et donne une idée de ce qu'il fait pour contribuer à la bonne gouvernance du pays et au bien-être des citoyens.

L'honorable Noël A. Kinsella
Président du Sénat

Signature du Président Kinsella