Forewords

The Honourable
Noël A. Kinsella

Speaker of the Senate

In the midst of continued economic and political uncertainty abroad, Canada maintains a well-earned reputation as a country where stability and freedom are enjoyed to an unparalleled degree. This is in large measure due to the work of our parliamentary institutions.

At the time of Confederation, the Senate stood as a chamber of sober second thought, a place to cool the passions of the moment reflected in bills passed by the members of the House of Commons. Although the emphasis may have changed over time, the two chambers have always worked together for the betterment of the nation.

In more recent times, the Senate and its committees have examined the protection and promotion of human rights. It has also conducted studies of the implementation of economic, cultural and social rights of Canadians, including landmark studies on health care, mental health, post-secondary education, and child poverty.

Senators use a range of discussion mechanisms to bring their unique qualifications to bear for the common good of Canadians. Senators are cognizant of their role in bringing attention to issues and their potential impact on individuals and groups.

The Senate complements the work of the House of Commons. Unintended errors in the technical drafting of bills may lead to misunderstandings when it comes to implementation and may obscure the interpretation of the law. In reviewing bills to locate and correct possible errors of this nature, the Senate draws on the wide-ranging backgrounds of its members in many different areas, including education, law, commerce, farming, military service and even entertainment.

In September 2010, Speakers and presiding officers of the upper and unicameral houses of the G20 were invited to come to Canada to discuss global food security. The first Speakers’ Consultation was held in the Senate Chamber, with productive discussions. The Republic of Korea took on the task of hosting the second Speakers’ Consultation in May 2011. There was general agreement that it is a useful forum, one which we were pleased to initiate in Canada. It also helps to strengthen relations between the parliaments of the G20 member states.

This annual report of the Senate presents an overview of the Senate’s activities in fiscal year 2010–11, providing insight into the operations and functions of the upper chamber and its members as they work in the public interest of all Canadians.

Speaker Kinsella Signature

Avant-propos

L’honorable
Noël A. Kinsella

Président du Sénat

Malgré l’instabilité économique et politique mondiale, le Canada demeure réputé pour son climat inégalé de stabilité et de liberté, et ce, en grande partie grâce au travail effectué par nos institutions parlementaires.

Au moment de la Confédération, le Sénat se voulait une chambre de réflexion où pouvaient s’apaiser les passions du moment qui risquaient d’entacher les projets de loi adoptés par les députés de la Chambre des communes. Bien que les rôles aient évolué avec le temps, les deux chambres ont toujours collaboré pour le bien du pays.

Plus récemment, le Sénat et ses comités se sont penchés sur la protection et la promotion des droits de la personne. Ils ont également étudié l’application des droits économiques, culturels et sociaux des Canadiens, et notamment effectué des études décisives sur les soins de santé, la santé mentale, l’éducation postsecondaire et la pauvreté chez les enfants.

Les sénateurs ont à leur disposition de nombreux mécanismes de discussion pour faire valoir leurs compétences uniques pour le bien des Canadiens. Ils sont conscients du rôle qui leur incombe d’attirer l’attention sur certaines questions et leurs répercussions possibles sur certains groupes et personnes.

Le Sénat complète le travail de la Chambre des communes. Il arrive que des erreurs de rédaction se glissent dans les projets de loi, ce qui peut causer des malentendus dans l’application des textes de loi plus tard et brouiller leur interprétation. Pour relever et corriger des erreurs de cette nature, le Sénat mise sur les expériences multiples de ses membres dans de nombreux domaines, notamment l’éducation, le droit, le commerce, l’agriculture, le service militaire et même le divertissement.

En septembre 2010, on a invité les présidents des chambres hautes et des parlements unicaméraux de séance des pays membres du G20 au Canada afin de discuter de la sécurité alimentaire dans le monde. La toute première Consultation des Présidents d’assemblée a eu lieu dans la Chambre du Sénat, et elle a donné lieu à des discussions fructueuses. La République de Corée s’est chargée d’organiser la deuxième Consultation des Présidents d’assemblée en mai 2011. Tous ont dit que cette réunion est un forum utile, et nous sommes fiers qu’elle provienne d’une initiative canadienne. La Consultation renforce également les relations entre les assemblées législatives des pays membres du G20.

Le présent rapport annuel du Sénat contient un survol des activités du Sénat au cours de l’exercice financier de 2010-2011 et permet de mieux comprendre le travail et les fonctions de la Chambre haute et des sénateurs au service de la population canadienne.

Signature du Président Kinsella