Forewords

The Senate Emblem

Photo of the Honourable Noël A. Kinsella
The Honourable
Noël A. Kinsella


Speaker of the Senate

Our Constitution states that “There shall be One Parliament for Canada, consisting of the Queen, an Upper House styled the Senate, and the House of Commons,” a clear reflection of our Westminster parliamentary heritage. The Senate is often described as the “chamber of sober second thought,” reflecting its role in reviewing and revising proposed legislation.

The Senate has a close association with the Crown and it is in the Senate Chamber that the thrones for Her Majesty and her consort are located. When the three constituent elements of Parliament come together in one place for the transaction of business, which includes the reading of the Speech from the Throne and the signification of Royal Assent to bills, it is always done in the Senate Chamber.

On these occasions, the Queen, or her representative the Governor General, takes the throne on the dais in the Senate Chamber and the Usher of the Black Rod is sent to summon the members of the House of Commons to the Senate Chamber.

This relationship between the Crown and the Senate is readily apparent to visitors to the Senate, as images of our monarchs abound in both its art and architecture. Even the history of Canada’s evolution under two crowns, first of France and then of Great Britain, is in evidence in the impressive stone carvings of their respective Royal Arms at the south end of the chamber.

During fiscal year 2011–12, Canada and the Commonwealth celebrated the 60th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the throne. The Senate added two images of Her Majesty to the fabric of its architecture to mark the occasion. In a ceremony attended by His Excellency, Governor General David Johnston, and Prime Minister Stephen Harper, a new image of Her Majesty carved in stone was unveiled, joining the carvings of all of Canada’s previous monarchs, each one set at the base of one of the arches in the Senate foyer. On February 7 of this year, the Senate held a ceremony to dedicate a new stained glass window installed over the Senate entrance to the Centre Block.

This stunningly beautiful window commemorates the diamond jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II and also that of Queen Victoria. Canada has only had two queens to date and both have celebrated their diamond anniversaries, the only two monarchs in all of Great Britain’s history to do so. It is a glowing daily reminder to senators and visitors of our history as a parliamentary monarchy and of Her Majesty, who has reigned with such distinction and grace over Canada since 1952. We are inspired by her diligence and selfless dedication to service, and each of us would do well to emulate her example.


Speaker Kinsella's Signature

Avant-propos

L'emblème du Sénat

Photo de l'honorable Noël A. Kinsella
L'honorable
Noël A. Kinsella


Président du Sénat

La Constitution canadienne prévoit, pour le Canada, « un parlement composé de la Reine, d'une chambre haute appelée le Sénat, et d'une Chambre des communes », ce qui montre indéniablement l’influence du système de Westminster sur nos traditions parlementaires. En raison de son examen des lois et des modifications qu’il y apporte, le Sénat est souvent qualifié de « chambre de réflexion » ou de « chambre de second examen objectif ».

Le Sénat entretient des liens étroits avec la Couronne. C’est d’ailleurs dans la chambre du Sénat que se trouvent les trônes de Sa Majesté et du prince consort, et c’est là également que se réunissent les trois éléments constitutifs du Parlement pour des cérémonies telles que la lecture du discours du Trône et la sanction royale des projets de loi.

À ces occasions, la reine ou son représentant, le gouverneur général, occupe le trône sur la tribune du Sénat, et l’huissier du bâton noir convoque les députés pour qu’ils se rendent dans la chambre du Sénat.

Quiconque visite le Sénat ne peut que constater, devant les nombreux portraits de monarques qui en ornent les murs, l’étroite relation qui unit la Couronne et le Sénat. Même l’histoire de l’évolution du Canada, d’abord sous la monarchie française puis sous la monarchie britannique, est illustrée par les armoiries royales de la France et de la Grande-Bretagne sculptées dans la pierre à l’extrémité sud de la chambre du Sénat.

Au cours de l’exercice 2011‑2012, le Canada et le Commonwealth ont célébré le 60e anniversaire de l’accession de la reine Elizabeth II au trône. Pour souligner cet anniversaire, le Sénat s’est enrichi de deux œuvres représentant Sa Majesté. À l’occasion d’une cérémonie à laquelle assistaient Son Excellence le gouverneur général David Johnston et le premier ministre Stephen Harper, il y a eu dévoilement d’une sculpture de Sa Majesté, qui s’ajoutait aux sculptures des autres souverains du Canada se trouvant à la base de chacune des arches du foyer du Sénat. En outre, le 7 février dernier, le Sénat a procédé au dévoilement d’un vitrail au‑dessus de l’entrée du Sénat, dans l’édifice du Centre.

Ce magnifique vitrail commémore le jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II et celui de la reine Victoria. Le Canada n’a eu que deux reines, et toutes deux ont célébré leur anniversaire de diamant. Ce sont d’ailleurs les deux seules souveraines de l’histoire de la Grande-Bretagne à avoir célébré leur anniversaire de diamant. Ce vitrail rappelle en permanence aux sénateurs et aux visiteurs l’histoire de notre pays, en tant que monarchie parlementaire, ainsi que l’histoire de notre souveraine, qui règne avec grâce et distinction sur le Canada depuis 1952. Sa diligence et son dévouement sans bornes sont exemplaires et constituent des sources d’inspiration pour nous tous.


Signature du président Kinsella