Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs

Second Session, Thirty-fifth Parliament, 1996

Chairman: The Honourable JOHN B. STEWART

Wednesday, February 5, 1997

Issue No. 19

Eighth Meeting on: The study on the growing importance of the Asia Pacific region for Canada, with emphasis on the upcoming Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Conference to be held in Vancouver in the fall of 1997, Canada's Year of Asia Pacific


From the Asia-Pacific Foundation of Canada:

William Saywell, President.

From Blewett, Dodd Architecture:

Peter Blewett, Partner.

From Bing Thom Architects Inc.:

Bing Thom, Principal.

From the Faculty of Commerce and Business Administration, University of British Columbia:

Michael Goldberg, Dean.

From Sustainable Development Research Institute, University of British Columbia:

The Honourable Michael F. Harcourt.

From Mitsubishi Canada Ltd.:

Arthur Hara, Chairman.

From Marsh & McLennan Ltd.:

Yozo Yamagata, Member, Canadian Advisory Board.

From Canada-Japan Forum 2000:

Tamako Yagai Copithorne, Member;

From MK Wong & Associates Ltd.:

Dany Gaw;

From Vancouver Stock Exchange:

Mike Johnson, President and CEO;

From Canada-Pacific Russia Trade Centre:

Ian Ogilvie, President.


The Honourable John B. Stewart, Chairman

The Honourable Pat Carney, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Bacon, Bolduc, Corbin, De Bané, P.C., Doody, *Fairbairn, P.C. (or Graham), Grafstein, *Lynch-Staunton (or Berntson), Stollery, St. Germain, Whelan

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in Membership of the Committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator St. Germain was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Ottenheimer. (February 5, 1997).

Back to top