Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LEONARD J. GUSTAFSON

Thursday, December 10, 1998

Issue No. 28

Fifteenth meeting on: The present state and future of agriculture in Canada, consideration of the effect of international subsidies on farm income


From Saskatchewan Wheat Pool:

Mr. Marvin Shauf, Vice-President; and

Ms Jennifer Higginson.


The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Chairman

The Honourable Eugene Whelan, P.C., Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Chalifoux, Fairbairn, P.C., * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Hays, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Rivest, Robichaud, P.C. (Saint-Louis-de-Kent ), Rossiter, Sparrow, Spivak, Stratton, Taylor

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Stratton substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Johnson (December 9, 1998).