Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chairman: The Honourable TERRANCE R. STRATTON

Wednesday, March 17, 1999

Issue No. 29

Sixth meeting on: Bill C-43, An Act to establish the Canada Customs and Revenue Agency and to amend and repeal other Acts as a consequence


From the Customs Brokers Association of Canada (CBAC):

Levon Markaroglu, Operations Director.

From the Fraser Institute:

Owen Lippert, Director, Law and Market Project;

As individuals:

Neil Crothall;

Barbara Stewart.

From the Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Shahid Minto, Assistant Auditor General;

Barry Elkin, Principal.

From the Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC):

John Baglow, Regional Executive Vice-President -- RCN.

From the Canadian Labour Congress:

Andrew Jackson, Senior Economist.


The Honourable Terrance R. Stratton, Chairman

The Honourable Anne C. Cools, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Bolduc, Butts, Carstairs, Cook, Ferretti Barth, Fraser, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Johnstone, Lavoie-Roux, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), St. Germain, P.C., Tkachuk

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The names of the Honourable Senators Johnstone, Butts and Carstairs substituted for those of the Honourable Senators Robichaud (Saint-Louis-de-Kent), Mahovlich and Moore (March 16, 1999).