Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997

Chairman: The Honourable LORNA MILNE

Monday, December 15, 1997

Issue No. 11

First and only meeting on: Examination of the proposed Regulations pursuant to subsections 7(6) and 7(7) of the Referendum Act

First meeting on: Bill C-16, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Interpretation Act (powers to arrest and enter dwellings)


On the examination of the proposed Regulations pursuant to subsections 7(6) and 7(7) of the Referendum Act:

From Elections Canada:

Mr. Jacques Girard, Director, Legal Services and Registrar of Political Parties;

On Bill C-16:

From the Department of Justice:

Mr. Yvan Roy, Senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy;

Mr. Michael Zigayer, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy.

From the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

Mr. Brian Ford, President, Law Amendments Committee, Chief, Ottawa-Carleton Police Service;

Mr. Vince Westwick, Legal Advisor, Law Amendments Committee.

From the Canadian Police Association:

Mr. Scott Newark, Executive Director.

From the Criminal Lawyers Association:

Mr. Irwin Koziebrocki, Treasurer.

Mr. Robert E. Hawkins, Associate Professor of Public Law, University of Western Ontario.

From REAL Women of Canada:

C. Gwendolyn Landolt, National Vice-President.


The Honourable Lorna Milne, Chairman

The Honourable Michel Cogger, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin, Doyle, Gigantès, *Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Jessiman, Losier-Cool, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Moore, Nolin, Pearson, Petten, Watt.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Petten substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Lewis (December 12, 1997).