Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on

Second Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1999-2000

Chair: The Honourable GERALD J. COMEAU
Tuesday, September 19, 2000
Wednesday, September 20, 2000

Issue No. 10

First and second meetings on:

Bill S-21, An Act to protect heritage lighthouses


Tuesday, September 19, 2000

Sponsors of the Bill:

The Honourable Senator J. Michael Forrestall;

Mr. Joe Varner, Senior Adviser to Senator Forrestall;

The Honourable Senator Pat Carney, P.C.;

Ms Tracey Bellefontaine, Legislative Assistant to Senator Carney.

From the Department of Fisheries and Oceans:

Ms Carol Beal, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services;

Mr. Reg Golding, Manager, Aids to Navigation, Canadian Coast Guard.

From Heritage Canada:

Ms Christina Cameron, Director General, Parks Canada Agency, National Historic Sites.

Wednesday, September 20, 2000

From the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic: (by VIdeo-conference)

Mr. Dan Conlon, Curator of Marine History.

From the Nova Scotia Lighthouse Preservation Society: (by Video-conference)

Reverend David Curry, Co-chair, Lighthouse Protection Act Committee.



The Honourable Gerald J. Comeau, Chair

The Honourable Fernand Robichaud, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

* Boudreau, P.C., (or Hays) Carney, P.C. Cook Johnson * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella) Mahovlich Meighen Perrault, P.C. Robertson Squires Watt

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Adams substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Perry (July 7, 2000).

The name of the Honourable Senator Squires substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Adams (September 15, 2000).

Back to top