Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue 14 - Minutes of Proceedings

OTTAWA, Monday, June 5, 2000


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 1:05 p.m., in room 256-S, Centre Block, the Chair, the Honourable Lise Bacon, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Adams, Bacon, Callbeck, Finestone, P.C., Forrestall, Furey, Perrault, P.C., Roberge and Spivak ( 9 ).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators DeWare, Joyal, P.C., Bolduc and Lynch-Staunton (4).

In attendance: The official reporters of the Senate and Martin Brennan, Special advisor.


The Honourable David Collenette, P.C., M.P., Minister of Transport.


From Transport Canada:

Margaret Bloodworth, Deputy Minister;

Valérie Dufour, Director General, Air Policy and Programs Group;

Jacques E. Pigeon, General Counsel, Legal Services.

From the Canadian Association of Airline Passengers:

Michael Janigan, Executive Director, Public Interest, Advocacy Centre.

Michael Murphy, President, Safety Interest, Advocacy Centre.

From the Air Transport Association of Canada:

J. Clifford Mckay, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Warren Everson, Vice-President, Policy and Strategic Planning.

From the Association des gens de l'air du Québec:

Serge Martel, Pilot.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference adopted by the Senate on May 30, 2000, the committee proceeded to study Bill C-26. (See Issue No. 14, Monday, June 5 , 2000 for full text of the Order of Reference.)

The witnesses made a presentation and answered questions.

At 5:50 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michel Patrice

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top