Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Second Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1999-2000

Chair: The Honourable LISE BACON

Monday, June 12, 2000

Issue No. 18

Fifth meeting on: Bill C-26 An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act, the Competition Act, the Competition Tribunal Act and the Air Canada Public Participation Act and to amend another Act in consequence


From British Airways:

Malcom Freeman, Vice-President and General Manager Canada.

From Cathay Pacific:

Robert S. Russel, Lawyer, Partner of Bordner Ladner Gervais (also representing British Airways).

From Air France:

Pascal Briodin, Executive Vice-President and General Director of Air France in Canada;

Gilbert Poliquin, Lawyer.

From Canadian Auto Workers (CAW):

Gary Fane, Director of Transportation;

Berni Viczko, President, Canadian Regional;

Anne Caldwell, Union representative, Canadian Regional;

Graham Urquhart, Union representative, Canadian Regional;

Rick Lesmesurier, Union representative, Canadian Regional;

Caroline Lavoie, Union representative, Canadian Regional.

From the Canadian Air Line Pilots Association:

Robert Weeks, President, Canada Board;

Pierre Orlak, Master Executive Chairman, Canadian Regional Airlines;

Dan Adamus, President, Legislative Affairs.

From Canadian Airlines:

Stephen Markey, Senior Vice-President, Corporate and Government Affairs;

Scott Bradley, Government Relations.

From Air Canada:

Robert Milton, President and CEO;

Douglas D. Port, Senior Vice-President, Corporate Affairs and Government Relations;

Duncan Dee, Executive Assistant to the President and CEO.


The Honourable Lise Bacon, Chair

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, * Boudreau, P.C. (or Hays), Callbeck, Finestone, P.C., Furey, Johnson, Kirby, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Poulin, Roberge, Spivak

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Poulin substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Furey (June 12, 2000).

The name of the Honourable Senator Furey substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Perrault, P.C. (June 12, 2000).

Back to top