Skip to content
ILLE - Special Committee

Illegal Drugs (Special)

Proceedings of the, Special Committee on Illegal Drugs

First Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001-02

Chair: The Honourable PIERRE CLAUDE NOLIN

Monday, June 10, 2002

Issue No. 22

Forty-fifth and forty-sixth meetings on:

Reassessing Canada's anti-drug legislation and policies


Morning sitting:

From the Department of the Solicitor General of Canada:

Mr. Paul E. Kennedy, Senior Assistant Deputy Solicitor General, Policing and Security Branch.

From the Correctional Service Canada:

Mr. Brian Grant, Director, Addictions Research Centre (PEI);

Mr. Ross Toller, Deputy Commissioner, Prairie Region.

From the Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Mr. Raf Souccar, Chief Superintendent;

Inspector Chuck Walker, Officer in Charge, Operational Systems Policy Section, National Contract Policing Branch.

From the Department of Health Canada:

Mr. Dann Michols, Assistant Deputy Minister, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch;

Ms Gillian Lynch, Director General, Drug Strategy and Controlled Substances Programme;

Ms Hélène Goulet, Director General, Tobacco Control Programme, Health Environments and Consumer Safety Branch;

Ms Cathy Airth, Acting Director, Office of Canada's Drug Strategy, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch.

From the Department of Justice Canada:

Mr. Croft Michaelson, Director and Senior General Counsel, Strategic Prosecution Policy Section;

Mr. Paul St-Denis, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

From the National Crime Prevention Centre:

Patricia Begin, Director, Research and Evaluation.

Morning sitting:

From the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse:

Mr. Michel Perron, Executive Director.


The Honourable Senator Pierre Claude Nolin, Chair

The Honourable Senator Colin Kenny, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Banks, *Carstairs, P.C., (or Robichaud, P.C.), *Lynch-Staunton, P.C., (or Kinsella), Maheu, Rossiter

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 3)

Back to top