Skip to content

Subcommittee on Veterans Affairs

Proceedings of the Subcommittee on
Veterans Affairs

First Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL A. MEIGHEN
Wednesday, December 5, 2001

Issue No. 3

Fourth meeting on: The health care provided to veterans of war and of peacekeeping missions; the implementation of the recommendations made in its previous reports on such matters; and the terms of service, post-discharge benefits and health care of members of the regular and reserve forces as well as members of the RCMP and of civilians who have served in close support of uniformed peacekeepers


From the Assembly of First Nations:

Mr. Matthew Coon Come, National Chief, Assembly of First Nations;

Mr. Larry Whiteduck, Coordinator for First Nations Social Development.

From the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations:

Mr. Perry Bellegarde, Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Chief and AFN Vice Chief;

Ms Paulette Tremblay, National Liaison for the Chiefs of Saskatchewan.

From the First Nations Veterans Roundtable:

Mr. Howard Anderson, Chair of the First Nations Veterans Roundtable and Grand Chief of First Nations Veterans.

From the Saskatchewan Indian Veterans Association:

Mr. Tony Coté, Veterans Coordinator.


The Honourable Michael A. Meighen, Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Atkins, *Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Day, Kenny, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Wiebe.

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 3)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Day substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Sibbeston (November 28, 2001).

The name of the Honourable Senator Atkins substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Forrestall (November 28, 2001).

Back to top