Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

Third Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2004

Chair: The Honourable COLIN KENNY

Monday, April 19, 2004
Monday, April 26, 2004
Wednesday, April 28, 2004
Monday, May 3, 2004

Issue No. 3

Sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth meetings on:

Examination on the need for a national security policy for Canada


Monday, April 19, 2004:

From Conference of Defence Associations:

Lieutenant-General (ret'd) Richard J. Evraire;

Colonel (ret'd) Alain Pellerin, Executive Director.

From the University of Calgary:

Dr. David J. Bercuson, Director, Centre for Military and Strategic Studies.

Monday, April 26, 2004:

From the Department of National Defence:

Dr. Kenneth J. Calder, Assistant Deputy Minister (Policy).

Wednesday, April 28, 2004:

From the Council for Canadian Security in the 21st Century:

Dr. J.L. Granatstein, Chair.

Monday, May 3, 2004:

As an individual:

Major-General (ret'd) Lewis MacKenzie.

From the Conference of Defence Associations Institute:

Brigadier-General (ret'd) W. Don Macnamara President.


The Honourable Colin Kenny, Chair

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Atkins, *Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Banks, Cordy, Day, Forrestall, Kenny, *Lynch-Staunton, (or Kinsella), Meighen, Munson, Smith, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Meighen substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Buchanan (March 2, 2004).

Back to top