Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable NICK G. SIBBESTON

Monday, October 24, 2005
Tuesday, October 25, 2005

Issue No. 12

Twelfth, thirteenth, fourteenth and fifteenth meetings on:

The involvement of Aboriginal communities and businesses in economic development activities in Canada


Monday, October 24, 2005 (morning meeting)

Tsekani First Nation:

Lucy Martin, Off-Reserve Councillor;

Bob Inkpen, Band Manager of Economic Development.

Burns Lake Native Development Corporation:

Emma Palmantier, Vice-Chair and Chief of Lake Babine Nation.

Northern Native Fishing Corporation:

Harry Nyce, Chairman;

William Moore;

William G. Starr, Chief of Kispiox Band Council.

Northwest Tribal Treaty Nations:

Justa Monk, Executive Chairman.

Taku River Tlingit First Nation:

John D. Ward, Spokesperson;

Kenneth Edzerza.

October 24, 2005 (afternoon meeting)

West Moberly First Nations:

Roland Willson, Chief.

Tlowitsis First Nation:

Thomas Smith, Councillor, Economic Development Officer.

4 Nations:

Gordon Sebastian, Executive Director.

Gitxsan Nation:

Jim Angus, Hereditary Chief, Wii Aliist.

Carrier Sekani Tribal Council:

Harry Pierre, Tribal Chief.

Tuesday, October 25, 2005 (morning meeting)

Squamish First Nation:

Harold Calla, Senior Councillor;

Jason Calla, Economist.

Nisga'a Lisims Government:

Nelson Leeson, President;

Arthur Mercer, Economic Development Coordinator.

Huu-ay-aht First Nation:

Robert Dennis, Chief.

Ch-ill-kway-uhk Forestry Limited Partnership:

Chief Roy Mussell, Chairman.

Khowutzun Development Corporation:

Brennan Gohn, Communications Manager.

Métis Nation British Columbia:

Keith Henry, Executive Director.

Tuesday, October 25, 2005 (afternoon meeting)

Douglas First Nation:

Darryl Peters, Chief.

Cree Industries:

John Olsen, President.

Aboriginal Tourism Association of British Columbia:

Brenda Baptiste, Chair.

Liliget Feast House:

Dolly Watts, Owner.

Coastal First Nations:

Art Sterritt, Executive Director.

GTM Consulting:

Jane Atkinson, President;

Lynne Figgess, CEO.


The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Chair

The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, *Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Buchanan, P.C., Campbell, Christensen, Fitzpatrick, Gustafson,
*Kinsella, (or Stratton), Lovelace Nicholas, Pearson, Peterson, Zimmer

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Léger retired (June 29, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas was added (September 28, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Zimmer was added (September 28, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Campbell substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Fitzpatrick (October 17, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Fitzpatrick substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Watt (October 19, 2005).

Back to top