Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable JOAN FRASER

Wednesday, November 18, 2009
Thursday, November 19, 2009

Issue No. 19

Eighth and ninth meetings on:

Bill C-15, An Act to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts


Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Health Officers' Council of British Columbia:

Dr. Brian Emerson, Chair, Psychoactive Substances Committee.

Drug Prevention Network of Canada:

Chuck Doucette, Vice-President.

Health Canada:

Cathy Sabiston, Director General, Controlled Substances and Tobacco Directorate;

Catherine MacLeod, Senior Director General, Regions and Programs Branch;

Jane Hazel, Director General of Marketing and Communications Services Directorate.

Public Safety Canada:

Daniel Sansfaçon, Director, Policy, Research and Evaluation, National Crime Prevention Centre;

James Bonta, Director, Corrections Research, Corrections Research Unit;

Guy Bourgon, Senior Research Officer, Corrections Research Unit.

Department of Justice Canada:

Elizabeth Hendy, Director, Policy Implementation Directorate;

Paul Wheatley, Director, Evaluation Division;

Kelly Morton-Bourgon, Senior Researcher, Research and Statistics Division.

Thursday, November 19, 2009

As individuals:

Benedikt Fischer, Professor, Simon Fraser University (by video conference);

Neil Boyd, Professor, Simon Fraser University (by video conference).

BC Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS:

Thomas Kerr, Research Scientist (by videoconference).

Correctional Service of Canada:

Don Head, Commissioner.


The Honourable Joan Fraser, Chair

The Honourable Pierre Claude Nolin, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Banks, Campbell, Carignan, *Cowan (or Tardif), Fortin-Duplessis, Joyal, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Milne, Rivest, Wallace, Watt

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Fortin-Duplessis replaced the Honourable Senator Mockler (November 19, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Mockler replaced the Honourable Senator Nolin (November 16, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Banks replaced the Honourable Senator Poulin (November 5, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Banks (November 5, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Poulin replaced the Honourable Senator Mercer (November 5, 2009).