Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable JOAN FRASER

Wednesday, November 25, 2009
Thursday, November 26, 2009

Issue No. 20

Tenth and eleventh meetings on:

Bill C-15, An Act to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other acts


Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Office of the Correctional Investigator:

Howard Sapers, Correctional Investigator of Canada;

Ivan Zinger, Executive Director and General Counsel.

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies:

Lucie Joncas, President.

The John Howard Society of Canada:

Craig Jones, Executive Director.

As individuals:

John Conroy, Lawyer;

Line Beauchesne, Professor, University of Ottawa.

Law Enforcement Against Prohibition:

David Bratzer, Canadian Representative.

Thursday, November 26, 2009

Cato Institute:

Glenn Greenwald (by video conference).

Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse:

Michel Perron, Chief Executive Officer;

Rita Notarandrea, Deputy Chief Executive Officer;

Amy Porath-Waller, Senior Research and Policy Advisor;

Rebecca Jesseman, Research and Policy Advisor.


The Honourable Joan Fraser, Chair

The Honourable Pierre Claude Nolin, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Banks, Campbell, Carignan, *Cowan (or Tardif), Joyal, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Milne, Rivest, Wallace, Watt

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Nolin replaced the Honourable Senator Fortin-Duplessis (November 19, 2009).

Back to top