Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Official Languages

Issue 14 - Minutes of Proceedings

OTTAWA, Monday, December 7, 2009


The Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages met this day at 4:36 p.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the deputy Chair, the Honourable Andrée Champagne, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Champagne, P.C., Fortin-Duplessis, Jaffer, Mockler, Pépin, Seidman and Tardif (7).

In attendance: Marie-Ève Hudon, Research Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, February 25, 2009, the committee continued its study on the application of the Official Languages Act and of the regulations and directives made under it, within those institutions subject to the act. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 1.) (Study on Part VII and other issues.)


The Honourable Christian Paradis, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Works and Government Services.


Public Works and Government Services Canada:

Diane Lorenzato, Assistant Deputy Minister, Human Resources;

Francine Kennedy, Chief Executive Officer, Translation Bureau;

Marc Olivier, Manager, Translation Bureau, Professional Development Division.

Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada:

Marie-France Kenny, President;

Suzanne Bossé, Director General.

Minister Paradis made an opening statement and, with the assistance of Ms. Lorenzato, Ms. Kennedy and Mr. Olivier, answered questions.

At 5:43 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:48 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Kenny made an opening statement and, with the assistance of Ms. Bossé, answered questions.

At 6:40 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Danielle Labonté

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top