Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

Third  Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable PAMELA WALLIN

Monday, November 15, 2010
Monday, November 22, 2010

Issue No. 9

Sixteenth and seventeenth meetings on:

Canada's national security and defence policies (The role of Canada in NATO) (National Threat Assessment)


Second and third meetings on:

Motion to change the official structural name of the Canadian Navy


Monday, November 15, 2010

Navy League of Canada:

The Honourable Rear-Admiral (Retired) Fred Mifflin, P.C., Honorary Chair, (Former Deputy Commander Maritime Command).

Vice-Admiral (Retired) Ron Buck, National First Vice-President, (Former Chief of Maritime Staff).

University of New Brunswick:

Marc Milner, Naval Historian (by video conference).

Naval Officers Association of Canada:

Rear-Admiral (Retired) Ken Summers, Vice-President, (Former Commander Canadian Fleet Atlantic).

Monday, November 22, 2010

As individuals:

Paul Chapin, Member of the Board of Directors, Canadian Defence Associations Institute, (Former Director General of International Security, Foreign Affairs and International Trade);

Martin Rudner, Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus, Carleton University;

Tom Quiggin, Senior Researcher, Canadian Centre of Intelligence and Security Studies, Carleton University;

Commander (Retired) Chris Thain, President of the Naval Officers Association of Canada branch in Winnipeg;

The Honourable Senator Bill Rompkey, P.C.


The Honourable Pamela Wallin, Chair

The Honourable Roméo Antonius Dallaire, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Day, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Manning, Mitchell, Patterson, Pépin, Plett, Segal

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Segal replaced the Honourable Senator Duffy (November 22, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Duffy replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (November 19, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (November 17, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (November 16, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Day replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (November 16, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Day (November 15, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (November 3, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Greene (November 3, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Segal (November 3, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Dallaire replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (November 2, 2010).

Back to top