Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable JOAN FRASER

Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Thursday, June 10, 2010

Issue No. 9

First and second meetings on:

Bill S-6, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and another Act (Serious Time for the Most Serious Crime Act)


The Honourable Robert Nicholson, M.P., P.C.,
Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada


Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Department of Justice Canada:

Catherine Kane, Director General and Senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

John Giokas, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Office of the Correctional Investigator:

Howard Sapers, Correctional Investigator of Canada;

Ivan Zinger, Executive Director and General Counsel.

Statistics Canada:

Julie McAuley, Director, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Mia Dauvergne, Senior Analyst, Policing Services Program, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Craig Grimes, Senior Analyst, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Rebecca Kong, Chief, Correctional Services Section, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics.

Thursday, June 10, 2010

National Parole Board:

Harvey Cenaiko, Chairperson;

Shelley Trevethan, Executive Director General;

Gertrude Lavigne, Senior Counsel.

Correctional Service Canada:

Ian McCowan, Assistant Commissioner, Policy Section;

Lynn Garrow, Associate Assistant Commissioner, Policy Section.


The Honourable Joan Fraser, Chair

The Honourable John D. Wallace, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Boisvenu, Carignan, Carstairs, P.C., *Cowan (or Tardif), Joyal, P.C., Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Munson, Rivest, Runciman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (June 10, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Watt (June 9, 2010).