Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable JOAN FRASER

Wednesday, October 27, 2010
Thursday, October 28, 2010

Issue No. 14

Third and fourth meetings on:

Bill S-10, An Act to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts


Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Canadian Bar Association:

Gaylene Schellenberg, Lawyer;

Joshua Weinstein, Past Chair, National Criminal Justice Section.

Barreau du Québec:

Nicole Dufour, Lawyer, Research Services and Secretary, Committee on Criminal Law;

Jean-Claude Dubé, Representative;

François Joli-Cœur, Representative.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

André Rady, Representative.

Criminal Lawyers' Association:

Adam Boni, Barrister and Solicitor.

Public Prosecution Service of Canada:

George Dolhai, Acting Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions and Senior General Counsel;

Laura Pitcairn, Counsel, Drug, National Security and Northern Prosecutions Branch.

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Stephen White, Assistant Commissioner, Director General, Financial Crime;

Eric Slinn, Inspector, Director, Drug Branch.

Public Safety Canada:

Yves Leguerrier, Director, Serious and Organized Crime Division.

Halifax Regional Police:

Don Spicer, Superintendant (by video conference).

Canadian Police Association:

Charles Momy, President.

Ottawa Police Services:

Jamie Foley, Detective.

Vancouver Police Department:

Peter Sadler, Sergeant (by video conference);

Neil Munro, Sergeant (by video conference).


The Honourable Joan Fraser, Chair

The Honourable John D. Wallace, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Banks, Boisvenu, Carignan, *Cowan (or Tardif), Hubley, Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Mahovlich, Rivest, Runciman, Wallace

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Banks replaced the Honourable Senator Joyal, P.C. (October 28, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Joyal, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Banks (October 28, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Chaput (October 28, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Mahovlich replaced the Honourable Senator Cowan (October 28, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Lang replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (October 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (October 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Banks replaced the Honourable Senator Joyal, P.C. (October 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Cowan replaced the Honourable Senator Watt (October 26, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Angus replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (October 22, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Carignan replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (October 22, 2010).